Staff and U.S. Ski Team report

Back to: News
May 12, 2014
Follow News

Tahoe racers nominated to 2015 U.S. Alpine Ski Team

Tahoe ski racers Julia Mancuso, Travis Ganong, Tim Jitloff and Stacey Cook were among the 40 athletes nominated to the 2015 U.S. Alpine Ski Team last week, leading the way on the squad’s A Team.

The team will be formally named in the fall during Nature Valley First Tracks at Copper Mountain, Colo., home of the U.S. Ski Team Speed Center.

Ganong and Jitloff are joined on the men’s A Team by Bode Miller, Ted Ligety, Andrew Weibrecht, Jared Goldberg and David Chodounksy.

Mancuso and Cook are joined by Lindsey Vonn, Mikaela Shiffrin, Leanne Smith and Alice McKennis on the women’s A Team.

Squaw Valley’s Bryce Bennett and Nick Daniels and Sugar Bowl’s Mark Engel, meanwhile, were promoted to the B Team, joining U.S. Ski Team veteran Marco Sullivan of Squaw Valley.

Incline Village native Lila Lapanja of the Sugar Bowl and Diamond Peak ski teams was bumped up from the women’s D Team to the C Team, while Squaw Valley Ski Team members Erik Avridsson and Stephanie Lebby were nominated to the D Team.

Stories you may be interested in

Sierra Sun Updated May 15, 2014 05:00PM Published May 12, 2014 11:56AM Copyright 2014 Sierra Sun. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.