Staff Report

Follow Me

Back to: News
November 27, 2013
Follow News

Truckee football | Retzlaff, Smith make All-League first team

A large handful of Truckee football players were honored on the Northern Division I-A All-League teams.

Leading the way were seniors Thor Retzlaff and Louden Smith, as Retzlaff was voted to the All-League first team as a safety and Smith made the first team as a kicker.

Lowry quarterback Calvin Connors was named Player of the Year, Fallon quarterback Morgan Dirickson was Offensive Player of the Year, Fallon linebacker Dakota Schelling was Defensive Player of the Year and Angel Vievanos of Elko was Lineman of the Year.

Fallon’s Brooke Hill and Elko’s Luke Sellers shared Coach of the Year honors. All the awards were decided by the league’s coaches.

In addition to Retzlaff and Smith’s first-team selections, Truckee senior Greg Engler was voted to the second team as both an offensive and defensive lineman, and senior Mitch Harrity made the second team at linebacker.

The following Wolverines received honorable mention: Smith (quarterback, cornerback), Lance Bokinskie (running back), Austin Vance (running back), Tanner Sawyer (wide receiver), Sean Daniel (wide receiver), Nathan Golden (offensive line), Blake Crosby (offensive line) and Erik Swalander (offensive line).

Stories you may be interested in

Sierra Sun Updated Dec 2, 2013 12:09PM Published Nov 27, 2013 06:04PM Copyright 2013 Sierra Sun. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.