Truckee police hand out 15 tickets for cellphone violations
Ryan Summerlin May 5, 2014
TRUCKEE, Calif. — Officers handed out 15 tickets last month to motorists who were illegally using cellphones while driving, officials said.
The Truckee Police Department stopped dozens of drivers as part of a nationwide education and enforcement campaign for National Distracted Driving Awareness Month in April.
Additionally, officers issued 22 written warnings for cellphone violations, according to a TPD news release. Of those warned or cited, 68 percent reported a Truckee address.
Police also investigated 11 reported traffic collisions in April, none of which involved distracted driving.
“Truckee PD encourages all motorists to drive with their full attention on the road — and if you must take that call, please comply with state law and utilize a hands-free device,” officers said.
According to California law, drivers are required to use hands-free equipment while driving, unless in certain cases of emergency. Further, any form of text-based communication while driving is illegal.
The fine for a first offense for either law, including penalties, is $76. A second offense is $190. Convictions will appear on your driving record, but points will not be added.
For information on distracted driving, visit www.distraction.gov.
Trending In: Crime
- Motorcycle gang member fatally shot on I-80 near Truckee
- Nevada duo arrested in Truckee on theft, heroin possession charges
- Truckee police logs: Person killed after being hit by train
- Incline Village crime logs: DUI, warrant arrests; narcotics report
- North Tahoe crime logs: Two rings stolen from jewelry store, valued at $15,000