Incline We The People class eyes state title |

Incline We The People class eyes state title

Staff report

The 2013-14 We the People class at Incline High School celebrates with its teacher, Milt Hyams, on Dec. 14 after winning the district competition at the University of Nevada, Reno. Torii Baker, Marcella Collins, Maddie Findlen, Abigail Floam, Misha Gehring, Mariposa Gollery, Mia Harbaugh, James Larson, Caroline May, Jack Miller, Sophia Mourelatos, Elise Nelson, Sam Reber, Kenny Savelieff, Kerrie Tonking, Evan Vomund and Sarah Wright make up this year's class.

Another year, another chance at a state title for We The People.

Incline High School's government class will compete with seven other teams in the 2013 state competition on Saturday, Feb. 1, at the Nevada State Legislative Building at 401 South Carson Street in Carson City. Opening ceremonies begin at 8:55 a.m.

The winner will represent Nevada in the state finals in late April in Arlington, Va.

Incline placed first out of nine teams at the Congressional District 2 We the People Competition on Dec. 14 at the University of Nevada, Reno.

On Saturday, Incline will compete with the following schools:

Congressional District 1: Clark High School

Recommended Stories For You

Congressional District 2: Carson High School, Edward C. Reed High School and Reno High School

Congressional District 3: Bishop Gorman High School and Basic High School

Congressional District 4: Canyon Springs High School

Nationally, the We The People program is directed by the Center for Civic Education, a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization. In Nevada, the program is sponsored by the State Bar of Nevada.

To learn more about We the People, visit

Go back to article