3 feet law with cyclists begins next September in California
December 25, 2013
TAHOE/TRUCKEE — The California Department of Motor Vehicles has a variety of new laws that become effective in the new year. One of the more important laws deals with sharing the road with cyclists.
AB 1371 — known as the Three Feet for Safety Act — will require a motorist passing a bicycle traveling in the same direction to pass with no less than 3 feet between any part of the vehicle and any part of the bicycle or driver.
According to the California Department of Motor Vehicles, when 3 feet is not possible, the motorist must slow to a “reasonable and prudent speed and only pass when no danger is present to the bicyclist.”
A violation with our without a collision is punishable by a base fine of $35, according to the law. If a collision occurs and a cyclist is injured, the driver faces a $220 base fine.
The law becomes effective Sept. 16, 2014.
Trending In: Local
- Election 2016: Tahoe Forest Hospital District — read 2 candidate statements
- Election 2016: IVGID Board of Trustees — read 6 candidate statements
- Election 2016: To legalize marijuana in Nevada … or to not legalize?
- Election 2016: Prop 64 would bring more than legal pot to California
- Election 2016: Truckee Tahoe Airport District — read 4 candidate statements
- Truckee Police arrest 5 people in vehicle burglary, theft cases (updated)
- Lake Tahoe weather: More rain in forecast after recent 11 billion-gallon dump
- Tahoe hiking: 6 must-see spots to enjoy autumn colors around the lake
- Hungry like the Wolf: Renowned Tahoe chef pens book on history of Wolfdale’s restaurant, life in kitchens
- Beth Howard leaving Northstar; search for new GM underway