20 candidates looking to fill Montgomery’s Placer County supervisor seat | SierraSun.com

20 candidates looking to fill Montgomery’s Placer County supervisor seat

Placer County has received 20 applications from candidates looking to fill Jennifer Montgomery’s seat on the Board of Supervisors.

Candidates seeking the board’s appointment are Jason Adair (Auburn), Gordon Ainsleigh (Meadow Vista), Steve Aldridge (Auburn), Jim Gray (Auburn), William Groth (Auburn), Cindy Gustafson (Tahoe City), Kevin Hanley (Auburn), Anders Hauge (Meadow Vista), David Johnson (Colfax), Christopher Kershner (Auburn), Gary Mapa (Applegate), James Nieto (Auburn), Joseph Offer (Applegate), Aaron Rudnick (Tahoe City), Timothy Sands (Auburn), Paul San Gregorio (Foresthill), Dennis Schlumpf (Homewood), Dan Warren (Tahoe Vista), Richard Warren (Auburn) and Mark Wright (Colfax).

A candidate must be appointed unanimously by the remaining board members within 30 days of the vacancy and be a resident of the district for at least 30 days prior to their appointment.

The board will hear the issue at their April 9 board meeting. If a unanimous vote can’t be made the appointment will be forwarded to an April 22 meeting. If the board cannot make a unanimous vote by May 1, then the Gov. Gavin Newsom will select a supervisor.

Montgomery announced earlier this month that she is stepping down to accept an appointment by Newsom as director of the state’s Forest Management Task Force.

Montgomery concluded her service as supervisor on March 31 and began her new position on April 1. Her current term as supervisor will expire in 2020.

Hannah Jones is a reporter for the Sierra Sun. She can be reached at 530-550-2652 or hjones@sierrasun.com.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User