2010 Olympics Watch, Rahlves, Bahrke officially named to Freestyle Team | SierraSun.com

2010 Olympics Watch, Rahlves, Bahrke officially named to Freestyle Team

U.S. Ski Team and Sun Staff report

PARK CITY, Utah and#8212; Moguls skier Shannon Bahrke of Tahoe City and skicross racer Daron Rahlves of Truckee are among 18 athletes who will make up the 2010 Olympic Freestyle Ski Team.

The U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association released the official announcement on Tuesday.

and#8220;We have a good mix of experienced veterans and some exciting young skiers making their first Olympic appearance,and#8221; said Freestyle Head Coach Jeff Wintersteen.

Besides Bahrke, who earned a silver medal at the 2002 Games, the women’s moguls team includes Hannah Kearney, Heather McPhie and Michelle Roark.

Patrick Deneen leads the men’s moguls squad, while rookie Bryon Wilson, Nate Roberts and Michael Morse round out the team. Sho Kashima of South Tahoe was almost certain to make the team before he suffered a season-ending knee injury recently in training.

Casey Puckett will join Rahlves in representing the USA in the debut of skicross in Vancouver.

It will be Puckett’s fifth Olympics and the fourth trip for Rahlves, a 2001 World Champion in alpine super G. Both were former U.S. Alpine Ski Team racers who have had strong success in skicross on the World Cup circuit and in the X Games.

Rahlves will be competing this week in the X Games, while Puckett is resting a shoulder injury but is expected to be ready to go for Vancouver.

and#8220;I’m confident and excited for Daron and Casey,and#8221; said Skicross Head Coach Tyler Shepherd. and#8220;We are all honored and proud to be Vancouver-bound with the first U.S. Olympic Ski Cross Team. Both Daron and Casey are skiing extremely well and there’s no reason they can’t challenge for the podium.and#8221;

Two-time Olympian Jeret and#8220;Speedyand#8221; Peterson and newcomer Lacy Schnoor head the aerials squads, while veterans Ryan St. Onge, Jana Lindsey and Emily Cook will be making return trips to the Olympics. They will be joined by Dylan Ferguson, Matt DePeters and Ashley Caldwell.

(name, hometown, age as of opening ceremonies, birthdate, (past Olympics))

Ski Cross


Casey Puckett, Aspen, CO, 37, 9/22/72 (1994, 1998, 2002, 2006) *

Daron Rahlves, Sugar Bowl, CA, 36, 6/12/73 (1998, 2002, 2006) *



Ashley Caldwell, Hamilton, VA, 16, 9/14/1993

Emily Cook, Belmont, MA, 30, 7/1/79 (2006)

Jana Lindsey, Black Hawk, SD, 25, 9/18/84 (2006)

Lacy Schnoor, Draper, UT, 24, 6/12/85


Matt DePeters, Hamburg, NY, 22, 8/20/87

Dylan Ferguson, Amesbury, MA, 21, 8/10/88

Jeret and#8220;Speedyand#8221; Peterson, Boise, ID, 28, 12/12/81 (2002, 2006)

Ryan St. Onge, Winter Park, CO, 26, 2/7/83 (2006)



Patrick Deneen, Cle Elum, WA, 22, 12/25/87

Michael Morse, Duxbury, MA, 28, 4/2/81

Nate Roberts, Park City, UT, 27, 3/24/82

Bryon Wilson, Park City, UT, 21, 4/7/88


Shannon Bahrke, Tahoe City, CA, 29, 11/7/80 (2002, 2006)

Hannah Kearney, Norwich, VT, 23, 2/26/86 (2006)

Heather McPhie, Bozeman, MT, 25, 5/28/84

Michelle Roark, Denver, 35, 11/16/74 (2006)

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User