Truckee parade smashing success |

Truckee parade smashing success

Uncle Sam caught a ride with Calfire during the Truckee July 4 parade.
Margaret Moran |

TRUCKEE, Calif. — Spectators lines the streets for the annual Truckee July 4 parade, themed Celebrating Truckee’s 150 Years since Establishment and 20 Years of Incorporation.

The parade, produced by the Truckee Donner Chamber of Commerce, is a showing of Truckee’s community spirit and small-town charm, and as always is a real slice of Americana.

One parade highlight was the Town of Truckee entry, a train engine replica, complete with shooting steam. The float was designed and created in recognition of the Town’s 20th anniversary since incorporation as well as the recent designation as “Train Town USA” which exemplifies the importance of the trans-continental railroad to Truckee’s history.

Driving the train was Matt Clark from Town of the Truckee public works department. Aboard and walking alongside the steam engine were the current Mayor and Council Members Carolyn Wallace Dee, Patrick Flora, Joan deRyk Jones, Mark Brown, and Alicia Barr; two current Planning Commissioners Bruce Cornell and Tom Murphy; two former Mayors Ted Owens and Richard Anderson; and Town staff Dave Scott and Chrissy Earnhardt. While the Town asked that the float not be included in the judging competition, the judges did commend the Town for the entry and chose to recognize it with an “Honorable Mention.” The float was created by the public works crew, and was made for the enjoyment of the community and for the celebration of these two significant anniversaries.

The winner of the $200 cash prize for the parade entry that best represented the 4th of July patriotic spirit and/or the parade theme was InnerRhythms Dance Centre.

Grand Marshals this year’s were Citizens of the Year Ruth Geresy and Mike Horn. Announcing the parade were Kane Schaller at Dickson Realty on the west end of town, and Jim Simon downtown.

Judges this year included Robb and Karen Etnyre, Larry Larson, Chelsea Walterscheid, and Sandy Horn. Returning for their 15th year were volunteer parade coordinators Hartley and Pattie Lesser.

Entries are judged on organization of entry, public’s response, quality of preparation, and effort involved. Awards given for first place winners in all categories.

And the winners are

Commercial: Piping Rock Equestrian Center

Open: Truckee River Drill Team

Youth Group: Girl Scouts of the Sierra Nevada

Non-Profit: Railroad Regulators 601

Classic Auto: Truckee’s Own Classic Vehicles & Five Rides

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User