Truckee Donner Chamber announces annual award nominees |

Truckee Donner Chamber announces annual award nominees

Shelly Wright, with Plumas Bank, us up for the Hospitality Award.
File photo |

TAHOE/TRUCKEE, Calif. — The Truckee Donner Chamber of Commerce announced the nominations for its Annual Awards to be presented at the Chamber’s 60th Annual Dinner and Pandora’s Auction, Oct. 29 at the Resort at Squaw Creek.

Businesses and individuals will be recognized in 10 award categories: Small Business (1-10 employees), Small Business (11-49 employees), Large Business, New Business of the Year, Revitalization Award (small and big business), Hospitality, Excellence in Government, Non-Profit of the Year, and Volunteer of the Year.

Small Business of the Year (1-10 employees) nominees: Artisan’s Market Place, The Auto & Tire Doctor, Auto Glass Express Truckee, Bespoke, Crux Events, Gallery Keoki, La Fleur Rouge, La Galleria, Mo, Jo & Zoe, The Law Offices of Molsby & Bordner, LLP (MOBO Law), Lorien Powers Studio Jewelry, O’Dette Mortgage Group, Riverside Studios, SmallPond Studio, Spirit Tahoe Interior Design, Tahoe Adventure Company, and The Sports Exchange.

Small Business of the Year (11-49 employees) nominees: Bar of America, Boice O’Neal Realty, Coffeebar, FiftyFifty Brewing Co., Full Belly Deli, Mamasake, Mountain Home Center, Pianeta Ristorante, Tahoe Expedition Academy, The Lodge Restaurant & Pub, Wild Cherries Coffee House, and Zano’s Family Italian & Pizzeria.

Large Business of the Year include nominees: Clear Capital, Mountain Hardware & Sports; Northstar California; Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe; Sierra College; Squaw Valley; Sugar Bowl Resort; Tahoe Donner Association; and Tahoe Forest Hospital.

New Business of the Year nominees: California 89, East River Public Relations, La Fleur Rouge, Linchpin Structural Engineering, Inc., Marty’s Café, Morgan’s Lobster Shack, and Tahoe Expedition Academy.

Revitalization Award (small business) nominees: California 89, Coffeebar, Truckee Bike Park Project, and Wild Cherries Coffee House.

Revitalization Award (large business) nominees: Humane Society of Truckee-Tahoe & Town of Truckee, Royal Gorge Cross Country Ski Resort, Tahoe Forest Health System – Gene Upshaw Memorial Tahoe Forest Cancer Center, and Truckee Hotel.

Hospitality Award nominees: Bespoke; Chelsea Walterscheid; Coffeebar; Craig Fierro, Auto Glass Express Truckee; James Woodruff, Crux Events; La Fleur Rouge; Mayumi Elegado, Moonshine Ink; Melody Rebbeck; Shelly Wright, Plumas Bank; Stefanie Olivieri; Sugar Bowl Resort; The Auto & Tire Doctor; Truckee River Winery; and Zano’s Family Italian & Pizzeria.

Excellence in Government Award nominees: Alicia Barr, Truckee Town Council; Chief Adam McGill, Truckee Police Department; Devin Bradley, Nevada County Health & Human Services Agency; Kelly Beede, town of Truckee; Kim Bateman, Sierra College; Tahoe Truckee Unified School District; Truckee Donner Recreation & Park District.

Non-Profit Organization of the Year niminees: American Cancer Society Relay for Life of Truckee-Tahoe, Contractors Association of Truckee-Tahoe (CATT), Excellence in Education, Family Resource Center of Truckee, Far West Nordic Ski Education Association, High Fives Non-Profit Foundation, Humane Society of Truckee-Tahoe, KidZone Museum, One-Stop Business and Career Center, Project MANA, Rotary Club of Truckee, Soroptimist International of Truckee Donner, Tahoe Expedition Academy, Tahoe SAFE Alliance, Trails & Vistas, Truckee Donner Historical Society, Truckee Donner Land Trust, Truckee Optimist, and Truckee Trails Foundation.

Volunteer of the Year nominees: Andy Wirth, Ann Carter, Billy McCullough, Brooks McMullin, Chris Otto, Dave Wilderotter, Jennifer Boehm, Luka Starmer, Noel Trim, Norm Nicholls, Rose Weskamp, Tally Brand, Truckee Volunteers in Police Service, and Wes Schimnelpfennig.

A highlight of the evening is the annual Pandora’s Auction, a silent auction extravaganza made possible by Chamber member donations.

These funds will be used by the Chamber to continue to provide a dynamic and proactive program of work in the upcoming year. Master of Ceremonies this year will be the esteemed Jim Simon.

Cost for attending is $80 per person before Oct. 22; $90 per person after Oct. 22. Dinner is included; reservations are required and seating is limited. Table sponsorships and reserved table packages are available. Reservations can be made online at

For more information, contact the Truckee Donner Chamber of Commerce at 530-587-8808 or e-mail

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User