Candidates file for elections |

Candidates file for elections

Four candidates will be competing for two open seats on the Truckee Town Council, a highlight of several local races in November’s elections.

The filing period for candidacies ended last week.

Truckee Town Council incumbents Ron Florian and Josh Susman filed their intentions to run for another four-year term. They will compete against local businessman and Contractor’s Association of Truckee-Tahoe chairman Ted Owens and self-described environmental advocate Kenn Rieders for seats on the council.

The Truckee-Tahoe Airport District board of directors race is shaping up as one of the year’s most competitive, with eight candidates running for three open seats. Incumbents Ken “K.B.” Foster, F. Robert Marshall and Don Starbard will face Parvin Darabi, Bruce W. Kuecker, Lynne Larson, George Simmons and Connie Stevens.

Four candidates will vie for two open seats on the Tahoe Forest Hospital District board. John R. Falk, Karen Sessler and Anthony G. Zissimos will challenge incumbent MaryLou Sullivan.

The Truckee-Donner Public Utility District board of directors will have five candidates in the running for three seats.

Incumbents Joseph R. Aguera and James A. Maass and appointed incumbent Nelson VanGundy will face Paul Klein and Patrick McDonough.

On the Tahoe Truckee Unified School District’s board, there will be no elections at all this year – all four open seats on the board had only one candidate file for each seat.

Incumbent trustees Patricia G. Johnson, representing Tahoe Donner, Karen Van Epps, representing the West Shore from Dollar Hill to Kings Beach, and Cindy Gustafson, representing the West Shore from Dollar Hill to Olympic Valley, were uncontested in their decisions to run for reelection.

School board incumbent Suzanne Prouty did not file for reelection, said a representative from the Placer County Elections Department. Daniel Collin of Olympic Valley was the only person who filed for Prouty’s seat to represent Area 2 of the school district, which includes Prosser and Glenshire.

Several statewide offices are also up for voting.

United States Senator Dianne Feinstein will face GOP challenger Tom Campbell.

Congressman Wally Herger, R-Chico, will compete against Democrat Stan Morgan for the U.S. House of Representatives seat representing California’s 2nd congressional district, which includes Nevada County.

California State Senator Thomas “Rico” Oller, R-San Andreas, will contest to represent District 1 against Thomas “Tom” Romero, D-Loomis, while in the State Assembly District 3 race, incumbent Samuel Aanestad, R-Grass Valley, faces challenger Benjamin Wirtshcafter, D-Marysville.

In coming weeks, the Sierra Sun will run full profiles of candidates in all the races, featuring their stands on the issues.

Election day is Tuesday, Nov. 7. Early filing deadlines are Sept. 7 and the final deadline to register is Oct. 10.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User