Tahoe Truckee Excellence in Education honors teachers and staff

Laura Brown
Special to the Sun
The 2013-2014 Linda Brown Fellows recipients from left: Jodi Adomshick, Alder Creek Middle School; Jean Fournier, Glenshire Elementary; Erin Smith, Glenshire Elementary; Theresa Charter, Glenshire Elementary; and Nicole Sayegh, District Office.
Courtesy photos |

TAHOE/TRUCKEE, Calif. — The Excellence in Education Foundation announced the recipients of the 2013-2014 Linda Brown Fellows and Star Awards at the Tahoe Truckee Unified School District (TTUSD) Back to School Convocation event on Monday, Aug. 26. All school district employees attend the event and the awards presentation is part of the new school year kick-off assemble.

Linda Brown Fellows Awards

Each year, Excellence in Education accepts nominations for the Linda Brown Fellows Awards, which offers an opportunity for the community to acknowledge exceptional teachers in our school district. Last spring, the Foundation received more than 65 nominations filled with experiences and heartfelt stories of teachers who go “above and beyond” for their students.

The Fellows Program was created more than 15 years ago to help promote and acknowledge excellence in education. The award is named in honor of Linda Brown, a long-time teacher in the school district and a past president of the Excellence in Education Foundation. She set an example as a strong educator and leader in our community. The honor is presented to outstanding teachers who demonstrate originality, innovation and dedication to the teaching profession. Recipients each receive $2,000 to be used to enhance educational work within the district and $1,000 for their personal use.

The 2013-2014 Linda Brown Fellows recipients are: Joni Adomshick, Alder Creek Middle School; Theresa Charter, Glenshire Elementary; Jean Fournier, Glenshire Elementary; Nicole Sayegh, District Office; and Erin Smith, Glenshire Elementary.

Star Award

Six years ago, the Foundation saw the need to honor the classified staff of our school district and created the Star Awards. The Star Award recognizes TTUSD classified employees who positively impact the lives of the students by providing outstanding support in their positions. The recipients each received $1,000 for their personal use.

The 2013-2014 Star Award Recipients are: Jessica Alb, District Office; Cindi Friedli, District Office; Cristine Goldman, Kings Beach Elementary; Robin Redmond, Sierra High School; and Phil Mix, Transportation.

The Fellows and Star Award programs offer the community a unique opportunity to acknowledge the fantastic work being done in our schools on a daily basis. Nominations for both the Fellows and Star Awards come from students, parents and community members, as well as any TTUSD staff member. No self-nominations or those from Excellence in Education board members are accepted. The nominations for next year’s awards will become available in spring 2014.

The Tahoe Truckee Excellence in Education Foundation is a nonprofit organization. The Foundation enhances public education within the Tahoe Truckee Unified School District to strengthen the learning experience for students. Each year Excellence in Education raises money and provides grants, resources and partnerships to benefit students, teachers and the educational community as a whole.

Laura Brown is the executive director of the Excellence in Education Foundation.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.