Election 2012: Measure J, Tahoe/Truckee verdicts to be published as results flow in | SierraSun.com

Election 2012: Measure J, Tahoe/Truckee verdicts to be published as results flow in

TAHOE/TRUCKEE – Today, millions of Americans went to the polls on Election Day to vote for the next President of the United States, and locally, hundreds of residents did the same and cast ballots for a variety of political races and state propositions – and perhaps most importantly, on a sextet of local races, coupled with a yea or nay vote on Tahoe/Truckee’s Measure J.In California, the polls remain open until 8 p.m., and depending on the state’s ability to travel with and count votes this year, results should start being published within an hour.The Sierra Sun will begin publishing updated stories of the local races and Measure J as the results come in, and will have full results up as soon as possible. But for those readers too eager to wait, real-time results can be accessed as they’re updated, both with Placer and Nevada counties, by visiting the following links:• http://www.placerelections.com/election-night-results.aspx• http://www.mynevadacounty.com/nc/elections/docs/2012%20Elections/November%206%202012/Results/Cumulative%20Report.pdfThe big item for most locals is Measure J, to be voted on by parcel owners within the Truckee-Donner Recreation & Park District. It’s a proposed bond measure for $8.52 million over 30 years to finance the construction of a performing arts center and an aquatic center in Truckee. It is estimated homeowners will pay, on average, $6.91 per $100,000 of assessed property value – amounting to an annual tax of about $20.Aside from Measure J, there are six contested Tahoe/Truckee government district races the Sun will focus on this evening:• Truckee Tahoe Airport District: four candidates running for three four-year seats – J. Thomas “Tom” Van Berkem, incumbent; Mary Hetherington, incumbent; Greg Jellinek and Lisa Wallace.• North Tahoe Fire Protection District: two candidates running for one four-year seat (District 1) – Mike Baffone and Scott Meyer.• North Tahoe Public Utility District: all three four-year term seats (Seat No. 1, Seat No. 2 and Seat No. 5) have two candidates – Ernie Dambach and Phil Thompson for No. 1; Tim Ferrell, incumbent, and Teresa O’Dette for No. 2; and John Bergmann, incumbent, and Ramona Cruz for No. 5.• Truckee Donner Public Utility District: four candidates for three four-year seats – Joseph R. Aguera, incumbent; Jeff Bender, incumbent; Bob Ellis and David Gravell.• Tahoe City Public Utility District: both four-year term seats (Seat No. 3 and Seat No. 4) have two candidates running – Kevin Fenley and Judy Friedman, incumbent, for No. 3; and Erik Henrikson, incumbent, and Kay Williams for No. 4.• Truckee Town Council: three candidates running for one two-year seat – Denny Dickinson, Patrick Flora and Daryl Simms. Three candidates running for two four-year seats – Alicia Barr, Jamie Brimer and Joan deRyk Jones, incumbent.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more