Election 2014: June primary on tap for IVGID; 7 file | SierraSun.com

Election 2014: June primary on tap for IVGID; 7 file

Kevin MacMillan

INCLINE VILLAGE, Nev — There will be a primary in the IVGID election this year.

Seven people — three women and four men — have filed for the board of trustees’ two seats. The candidate filing period in Washoe County wrapped at 5 p.m. Friday.

The last person to file Friday was Incline resident Robert Olmer. He last ran for IVGID in 2012, finishing ninth out of 10 candidates in the primary, garnering 233 votes (4.15 percent).

Filing Thursday were Incline residents Sheila Leijon and Kendra Wong. Leijon currently is community outreach coordinator at Incline Village Community Hospital. Prior to that, she served for several years as coordinator for IVGID’s senior programs.

Wong is an associate professor and Business Department Chair at Sierra Nevada College. She also serves as treasurer for Girls on the Run – Sierras, and she and her husband, Ethan, own Wild Alaskan Restaurant and Bar in Incline Village.

Megan Lade was the first woman to file earlier last week. Lade has been head coach of the Incline High School girls track team the past five years. She led the Highlanders to a fourth-place finish at the 2013 Division III state championship. The girls finished second in 2012.

The other men who filed last week — Aaron Katz, Frank Wright and Tim Callicrate — all are familiar with IVGID ongoings.

Katz is a frequent critic of the district, attending nearly every meeting to offer public comment. He’s filed a lawsuit and several open meeting law complaints over the past four years against the district.

Katz also ran for trustee in the 2012 election. He did not make it past the June primary, tallying 248 votes (4.42 percent), finishing eighth.

Callicrate — who was an IVGID trustee from 1997-2000 — ran in 2012, finishing fifth out of six candidates in the general election. He received 1,911 votes (14.89 percent), losing to current trustees Bill Devine, Jim Smith and Jim Hammerel.

Wright, too, ran in the 2012 election, getting 262 votes (4.67 percent) in the primary, finishing seventh.

Running in the 2008 general election for IVGID, Wright finished sixth out of six candidates for three seats, with 1,267 votes (10.49 percent). He also ran unsuccessfully in 2007 for the seat vacated by Bev Mapps.

The seats up in 2015 are held by current chair Joe Wolfe and trustee Bruce Simonian; they were elected in 2010.

According to state law, primaries are held for any office that has more than double the number of people applying than the number of positions open.

There will not be a primary for the two open seats on the North Lake Tahoe Fire Protection District Board of Directors, as three candidates — Jeff Warner (incumbent), Susan Herron and Dennis Perry — filed by the deadline.

Incline Village Justice Court Chief Bailiff Hans Keller will run unopposed for the Incline Village Constable seat.

For a full list of candidates in the 2014 election, visit http://www.washoecounty.us/voters/14filed.html.

The primary election in Nevada is June 10.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.