Election 2016: Horan, Morris, Dent take IVGID primary; Krasner beats Guinasso | SierraSun.com

Election 2016: Horan, Morris, Dent take IVGID primary; Krasner beats Guinasso


This story has been updated from a previous version to correctly report that, according to the unofficial results, Scott Kelley has been automatically elected to the Washoe County School District Seat A, due to his more-than-50-percent margin of victory. He will take office in January 2017. The Bonanza regrets the error.


By the numbers - IVGID trustee race

Philip Horan (incumbent): 932 votes (19.84%)

Peter William Morris: 686 votes (14.60%)

Matthew Dent (incumbent): 530 votes (11.28%)

Robert J. Olmer: 529 votes (11.26%)

Judy Miller: 511 votes (10.88%)

Paul. R. Longshore: 354 votes (7.54%)

Benecia Price: 348 votes (7.41%)

Frank L. Wright: 327 votes (6.96%)

Steve King: 291 votes (6.19%)

Steven Thomason: 190 votes (4.04%)

Total number of votes cast: 4,698

Note: Top 6 vote-getters move onto November’s general election.

Source: Washoe County Elections; results are deemed unofficial

INCLINE VILLAGE, Nev. — If Tuesday’s primary election is any indication, it’s going to be quite the race for three seats on the Incline Village General Improvement District Board of Trustees.

Unofficial results posted late Tuesday night by Washoe County show that IVGID incumbents Philip Horan and Matthew Dent will be joined by Peter W. Morris, Robert J. Olmer, Judy Miller and Paul R. Longshore in November’s general election.

Horan received the most votes in the June 14 primary with 932, representing 19.84 percent of votes cast for the race.

Morris finished second (686 votes, 14.60 percent), followed by Dent (530 votes, 11.28 percent), who tallied just 1 more vote than the fourth-place Olmer (529 votes, 11.26 percent).

With 10 candidates in the primary, residents were asked to vote for three people — the top six vote-getters move onto November. Rounding out the top six were Miller (511 votes, 10.88 percent) in fifth place and Longshore (354 votes, 7.54 percent) in sixth.

Longshore edged Benecia Price by 6 votes and the right to move onto November’s general election — Price received 348 votes (7.41 percent) to finish seventh.

Washoe County Registrar of Voters Luanne Cutler said a canvass of the election will take place with the Board of County Commissioners during its Tuesday, June 21 meeting, after which the results would become official.

“The Commission declares the results official and that’s the end of the process,” Cutler said. “The only exceptions might be if someone requested a recount or if a contest of election was filed.

“As far as Incline Village is concerned, there would be no reason to believe the results will change at all.”

In all, 4,698 votes were counted in the IVGID race, across 10 districts, which includes early voting.

According to Washoe County, there were 6,950 registered voters Incline Village/Crystal Bay heading into the primary. A full precinct-by-precinct breakdown should be published next week, Cutler said.


Another county primary race important to local voters was that of Nevada Assembly District 26, which covers Incline Village/Crystal Bay.

According to Tuesday’s unofficial results, Lisa Krasner defeated Jason Guinasso in the primary runoff, 3,448 votes to 2,784 (55.33 percent to 44.67 percent).

Since both candidates are Republican, there will be no general election, meaning Krasner will take the seat and replace Assemblyman Randy Kirner.

This year, four of seven seats are up for election on the Washoe County School District Board, featuring a total of 20 candidates.

Specific to Incline, there are two races of interest: three candidates for the District A seat, which covers southeast Reno and Incline Village/Crystal Bay; and eight candidates for District G, an at-large position representing the western half of Washoe County.

For Seat A, Scott Kelley easily earned the most votes in Tuesday’s primary with 6,563 (54.31 percent). Dale Richardson finished second (2,971 votes, 24.58 percent), followed by Colleen Doenges in third (2,551 votes, 21.11 percent).

According to those results, Kelley is automatically elected to the seat, taking office in January 2017.

In previous election cycles, Kelley would have faced off against Richardson in a November run-off, no matter the margin of primary victory.

A new state law this year, however, awards the seat to any candidate in a nonpartisan race (such as school board trustee) who gets more than 50 percent of the vote, effectively canceling the general election for that race.

Meanwhile, former Washoe County Manager Katy Simon Holland cruised to the most votes on Tuesday for Seat G with 11,386, good for 43.14 percent.

Former IVGID General Manager Bill Horn finished second (5,189 votes, 19.66 percent). The next closest candidate, Greg Hudson, finished third with 2,409 votes (9.13 percent) — meaning Simon Holland and Horn will face off in November.

Visit washoecounty.us/voters to view Washoe County’s full list of unofficial results from Tuesday’s primary.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User