Several Nevada County departments get fee increase
Right now a Nevada County Library user will get hit with a $4 fine for returning a book that’s been chewed by a dog.
It’s $2 for a book that has excessive wear and tear, or if it’s sullied with dirt, sand, candy, or gum.
Here’s the problem: The library can’t return those books to circulation, meaning it needs the full cost of the item plus a processing fee to replace the reading material.
In fact, the existing fees already call for the full cost of replacing the damaged item, plus a $5 charge.
That discrepancy was one reason the Nevada County Board of Supervisors last week approved fee changes for a handful of county departments, the library among them.
“We’ve consolidated them all under damage,” Librarian Laura Pappani said. “It was extra confusing.”
The library last updated its fees in 2009. The new fines become effective July 13.
Other departments that updated their fees include the Public Defender and Clerk-Recorder’s offices.
The cost of a marriage ceremony at the Clerk-Recorder’s Office is rising to $50 from $40. Filing a fictitious business name statement now will cost $30 instead of $24. A wedding ceremony witness — currently free — will cost $10.
The Clerk-Recorder fees become effective July 1.
For the Public Defender’s Office, fees for misdemeanor cases will rise to $250 from $200. Felony cases will cost $450 instead of $400. The $400 juvenile case fee remains unchanged.
Those fees became effective immediately.
According to CFO Martin Polt, supervisors update the fees of various county departments on a rotating basis.
“The library — the fee structure was outdated,” Polt said. “Like a dog chewed a book.”