Nevada cellphone law goes into effect Jan. 1
December 30, 2011
INCLINE VILLAGE, Nev. andamp;#8212; The Nevada law banning non-hands-free cellphone use while driving officially goes into effect Sunday, Jan. 1.Law enforcement began issuing warnings starting Oct. 1. Once 2012 begins, those pulled over for texting, talking or otherwise using a non-hands-free device will be subject to a $50 fine for the first offense, $100 for the second and $250 for the third and subsequent offenses. Fines could doubling in work zones.Exceptions include:andamp;#8226; Any person reporting a medical emergency, a safety hazard or criminal activity.andamp;#8226; Drivers using a voice-operated navigation system affixed to the vehicle or those riding in autonomous vehicles.andamp;#8226; Drivers using citizen band or other two-way radios that require a license and have a separate, handheld microphone.andamp;#8226; Law enforcement officers, firefighters or emergency medical personnel acting within the scope of their employment.andamp;#8226; Utility workers responding to an outage or emergency and using devices provided by the company.andamp;#8226; Amateur radio operators providing communications services during an emergency or disaster.