Nevada County ag commissioner appointed to federal wildlife advisory committee

Submitted to the Sun

TRUCKEE, Calif. — Nevada County Agriculture Commissioner Chris de Nijs has been appointed to the National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee, which advises the U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretary Thomas Vilsack on recommendations for policies and activities for the department’s wildlife services program.

“This means rural foothill agricultural producers truly have a voice at the federal level. I look forward to working with the many diverse stakeholders that depend on the wildlife services program and providing meaningful input to help them better accomplish their respective work,” said de Nijs in a press release. “As the only person selected from California, this is a huge honor and very humbling.”

De Nijs works tirelessly with agriculture as well as weights and measures in Nevada County. These programs include calibrating weighing devices to mitigate invasive species to issuing pesticide use permits. Most recently, de Nijs’ team was awarded a California State Association of Counties 2022 Challenge Award for their joint work in the Disaster Livestock Access Program, which supports the safe evacuation of livestock from commercial ranch operations during disasters such as wildfires.

“We are proud of Chris’ appointment to this committee and know he will do a wonderful job representing the needs of rural agriculture on behalf of the state of California,” said Community Development Agency Director Trisha Tillotson. “We hope Chris’ work will continue to support the wonderful work Nevada County’s Agriculture Department is already doing and benefit our county and the state.”

National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee nominees are selected to represent program stakeholders including academia, airport safety, farming and livestock producers, and state wildlife agencies, among other interest groups. The NWSAC serves as an open forum for diverse interests to have a voice in the policies, guidance, and strategic planning for WS.

Committee members are appointed for a 2-year term and can serve up to three consecutive two-year terms.

Chris de Nijs

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.