Nevada Couunty empanels Grand Jury |

Nevada Couunty empanels Grand Jury

The Nevada County civil grand jury for 1999-2000 has been empaneled.

Judge Albert P. Dover swore in the jurors on June 28 in a ceremony at the Nevada County Courthouse Annex.

The new grand jury will serve through June 30, 2000. Dover will be the presiding judge of the grand jury.

The Nevada County grand jury for 1999/2000 is composed of: David Janison, Paul F. Foster, Art Maruna, Eugene D. Fox, Arthur Conley, John Cummiskey, Mary C. Elmiger, Herbert H. Schmitt, William Jay Rounds, Lee Pendleton, Raymond H. Hoffman, Penny Spratling, Kathryn W. Krogh, Stanley H. Meckler, Leonard A. Schwartz, Guido Galli, Larry Lutz, Linda Pryor and Alston Thomas.

Janison was selected as the grand jury foreman.

He has worked in both the public and private sectors, including service as press secretary for the mayor of Los Angeles.

In addition, seven alternates were selected:

Garrett Bryce, Carolyn Classen, Robert J. Gunning, James B. Lawrence, Terry Haines, Ronald Brown and M.K. Burke.

The new grand jury members attended the Yuba County Citizen’s Alliance sixth annual grand jury seminar in Marysville for training on the importance of grand juries, the functions of local government, investigation methods and techniques, liability and creating effective reports.

Janison is expected to meet with the other grand jurors in the near future.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User