North Tahoe Fire Awards Ceremony honors firefighter/paramedics |

North Tahoe Fire Awards Ceremony honors firefighter/paramedics

Courtesy photo

TAHOE/TRUCKEE, Calif. — North Tahoe Fire’s new Chief Michael Schwartz and his family, along with the NTF Board of Directors and North Tahoe Fire employees welcomed guests to celebrate the past two years of significant events and achievements.

The district was proud to acknowledge the following; 2011 Firefighter of the Year Award to Firefighter/EMT Jeff Goldstone and 2012 Firefighter of the Year Award to Battalion Chief Steve Simons.

North Tahoe Fire recognized district firefighter/paramedics Captain Scott Sedgwick; firefighter/paramedic Brent Armstrong; firefighter/EMT Billy Haupert; firefighter/paramedic Joel Slaughter; Captain/paramedic Dan Hopwood; and Captain/paramedic Scott Whitham for extraordinary work in the field, involving lives saved.

Cliff Tatro was present at the Awards Banquet as a guest speaker. He gave a very personal accounting of the North Tahoe Fire paramedic’s efforts that succeeded in saving his life en-route to the hospital. His brother-in-law, who happens to be Fire Chief DuRee of Long Beach Fire in southern California, also attended the ceremonies. Chief DuRee was quoted as saying in his service of 30 years, he could count on one hand how many times he has seen a successful save of this kind.

Representative Christy Harlan of the Sierra, Sacramento Valley Emergency Services Agency also spoke and handed out numerous EMS awards to the North Tahoe Fire firefighters and paramedics for excellent service of the last two years.

The district also celebrated the exemplary service of these retirees; in 2012 Chief Duane Whitelaw, 2012 Chief Peter Poe, 2012 Battalion Chief Dave Ruben, 2012 Captain Rick Russ, 2012 Captain Frank Watts and Captain Ray O’Brien 2013.

The following were promoted by North Tahoe Fire to Battalion Chief, Steve Simons and to Captain, Steve McNamara, Dan Gomez and Scott Whitham.

Newly hired firefighter/paramedics to the North Tahoe Fire District are Brent Armstrong and Clyde Rust.

Several employees of the North Tahoe Fire District were recognized for their length of service from five years to 30 years of dedication.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User