Bringing the Sierra to the State Capital: Sierra Nevada leaders honored with Vision 2020 Award in Sacramento |

Bringing the Sierra to the State Capital: Sierra Nevada leaders honored with Vision 2020 Award in Sacramento

Nikki M. Streegan
Special to the Sun

SACRAMENTO, Calif. and#8211; Leaders and visionaries in the areas of conservation, energy, smart planning and growth, sustainable development, and affordable housing will be honored at the State Capitol on behalf of their tremendous contributions to the Sierra Nevada. Join Sierra Business Council and our 2009 Vision 2020 Award winners at the Leland Stanford Mansion in Sacramento, April 14, 2010, 5-8 p.m.

This yearand#8217;s Vision 2020 Award winners are Reed Tollefson from the Audubon Californiaand#8217;s Kern River Preserve, Meea Kang from Domus Development, Jim Turner from Sierra Pacific Industries Loyalton Co-Generation Power Plant and Keith Logan from Logan and Associates and the Northern Sierra Biomass Utilization Task Force. A Lifetime Achievement award will be given to Mike Chrisman, the former Secretary for Natural Resources for the California Resource Agency.

The 2009 Vision 2020 Awards will be an opportunity to celebrate the great and varied accomplishments of visionaries in the Sierra Nevada, as well as demonstrate the immense value the Sierra region brings to the state of California. Steven Frisch, president, Sierra Business Council

The 2009 Vision 2020 Awards feature a no host bar, as well as appetizers sourced from local Sierra Nevada producers. This event is free to the public but Sierra Business Council will accept donations to the event. Visit to RSVP today.

and#8212; Submitted by Nikki M. Streegan, communications director, Sierra Business Council

Some of the greatest things happen under conditions of adversity and at Sierra Business Council weand#8217;re committed to approaches that create opportunity from those exact circumstances. Each year, the regional sustainability non-profit, Sierra Business Council, hosts an event to recognize and encourage leadership in the Sierra, honoring community members as their work continues to achieve excellence in projects and approaches that foster community vitality, environmental quality, economic prosperity, and social fairness.