Excellence in Education Foundation accepting nominations for Linda Brown Fellows and Star Awards | SierraSun.com

Excellence in Education Foundation accepting nominations for Linda Brown Fellows and Star Awards

Special to the Sun

Courtesy Excellence in Education2011/2012 Linda Brown Fellows Award recipients from left: Nancy McNair, North Tahoe School; Peggy Heidelberger-Smith, North Tahoe High School; Carol Reed, Lissa Johnson and Terrina Woodard, Glenshire Elementary School.

TAHOE/TRUCKEE, Calif. and#8212; The Tahoe Truckee Excellence in Education Foundation is now accepting nominations for the 2012/2013 Linda Brown Fellows Awards and the Star Awards. Linda Brown Fellows Award recipients each receive $2,000 to be used to enhance educational work within the district. In addition, both Linda Brown Fellows awards recipients and Star Award recipients receive $1,000 for their personal use.

The Fellows Program was created 15 years ago to help promote and acknowledge excellence in education. It was named in honor of Linda Brown, a longtime teacher in the school district and a past president of the Excellence in Education Foundation. The honor is presented to outstanding teachers and staff members who demonstrate originality, innovation and dedication to the teaching profession that is above and beyond the normally high standards of the Tahoe Truckee Unified School District (TTUSD).

The Star Award recognizes classified employees who positively impact the lives of the students by providing outstanding support in their positions. All certificated and classified employees in the TTUSD who are employed for at least 80 percent of the school year are eligible for the awards.

The Foundation is asking the community to help identify and celebrate more of these wonderful educators. Award nominations may come from parents and community members, as well as any TTUSD faculty or staff member. Self-nominations or nominations from Excellence in Education board members will not be accepted. Nomination forms, can be found at all district schools, the district office, or online at http://www.exined.org and must be postmarked or hand delivered to the Excellence in Education office at 11071 Donner Pass Road in Truckee by Thursday, May 3, 2012. The 2012-2013 recipients will be announced in the fall.

For more information, please call 530-550-7984 or visit exined.org.

and#8212; Submitted to aedgett@sierrasun.com