Schneider tops council race |

Schneider tops council race

Truckee Town Council incumbents Maia Schneider, Bob Drake and Don McCormack prevailed in the election Tuesday against challenger Edgar Stratton. Schneider received 2,675 of votes cast, compared to 2,312 for Don McCormack, 2,196 for Drake and 1,713 for Stratton.

“I’m honored and a little overwhelmed,” Schneider said. “I’m glad to have the opportunity to keep doing this for four more years.” Schneider said she believes land use and managing growth will be some of the most crucial issues in the next four years.

“How it happens will be critical to the town,” she said. “How Truckee will look in 20 to 30 years is up to us now.”

Schneider was appointed in 1997 to fill the council seat vacated by Steve Carpenter.

McCormack, who said he spent Wednesday removing his campaign signs, was pleased to be back for another council term.

“Any election you win is a good election,” McCormack said. “You always think you could do better, but getting elected is the goal. When you consider there were just over 4,000 ballots cast and my name was selected on over 57 percent of them, it is comforting.”

Councilmember Bob Drake was unavailable for comment Wednesday, because he was in Washington, D.C., as a member of the town’s Highway 267 Bypass delegation to the Federal Highway Administration.

PUD race

The two incumbents in the Truckee-Donner Public Utility District swept away all challengers in the race for two district seats. Patricia Sutton received 1,490 votes, while Ron Hemig was second with 1,480 votes. Herb Gaarder received 615 votes, followed by Patrick McDonough with 585 votes, Jerry J. Bowes with 536 votes and Dan Cooley with 527 votes.


At the Tahoe Forest Hospital District, challenger Lee Auckenthaler won one of three at-large seats up for election on the board, garnering 3,543 votes to oust incumbent John Falk, who received 2,694 votes. Incumbent Rob Eskridge received 3,504 votes, while Leonard Shaheen received 3,234.

Rec district

All three incumbent board members up for election at Truckee-Donner Recreation and Park District retained their seats. Incumbent H. Peter Werbel received 2,594 votes, Geoff Stephens 2,517 and appointed board member Kevin McCall received 2,189. The sole challenger in the race, Paul Klein, garnered 1,286 votes.

Sanitary district

Longtime Truckee Sanitary District director Marjorie Adkerson lost her seat on the board to Michael Sullivan. Adkerson received 1,497 votes to 1,612 for Sullivan. Incumbent Ron Sweet received 1,748 votes; incumbent Jerry Gilmore 1,865, and challenger Dorothy Wittmann 859.

Fire district

Incumbents on the Truckee Fire Protection District board also retained their seats. K. Jerry Goulding received 1,954 votes; Gary Waters 2,574, and Joseph E. Straub 2,121. Ron Perea, the sole challenger, received 1,801 votes.

Sierra Sun E-mail:

Visitors Guide | News | Diversions | Marketplace | Weather | Community

Copyright, Materials contained within this site may

not be used without permission.


Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User