Signature-collecting period begins for March county candidates |

Signature-collecting period begins for March county candidates

NEVADA CITY – Nevada County’s political hopefuls started signaling their intentions Friday, with the start of the signature collection period for the March 5 primary election.

Candidates can circulate petitions to collect signatures in lieu of paying the full filing fee, which varies from office to office, said county Clerk-Recorder Lorraine Jewett-Burdick.

Filing fees are based on 10 percent of the salary of the office the candidate is running for, and may be pro-rated if only a portion of the signatures are collected.

The signature filing period ends Nov. 26.

The next step in the process is the candidate filing period, from Nov. 13 to Dec. 7.

During this period, candidates must file a declaration of candidacy and circulate nomination papers. Candidates must pay filing fees or present in-lieu signatures when a declaration of candidacy is filed.

“You never know until Dec. 7 who’s actually running,” Jewett-Burdick said.

If the incumbent doesn’t file, however, the filing period is extended five days.

“So by Dec. 12, we will know who’s running for every office,” she said.

In nonpartisan county races in which only two candidates are running, the candidate with the majority of votes in the March primary is declared the winner.

In races with more than two candidates, the top two finishers in the primary go to a run-off in the general election, which will be Nov. 5, 2002.

For state offices, each party nominates a candidate in March. Candidates then face off in the November general election.

Open County Offices

County offices up for grabs this year include assessor (Dale Flippin, appointed incumbent), auditor-controller (Bruce Bielefelt, incumbent), clerk-recorder (Jewett-Burdick, incumbent), district attorney (Michael Ferguson, incumbent), sheriff (Keith Royal, incumbent) superintendent of schools (Terence McAteer, incumbent), District 3 supervisor (Bruce Conklin, incumbent), District 4 supervisor (Elizabeth Martin, incumbent), treasurer-tax collector (E. Christina Dabis, incumbent), Superior Court judge (M. Kathleen Butz, incumbent) and Superior Court judge (John Darlington, incumbent).

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User