Far West Division qualifies six J3s to compete at Whistler Cup | SierraSun.com

Far West Division qualifies six J3s to compete at Whistler Cup

Sun Staff report

The Far West Division produced six of the eight regional qualifiers from the J3 Junior Olympics held at Mount Bachelor, Ore., from March 17-21, including three from the Squaw Valley Ski Team.

The athletes, each of whom recorded a first-place finish in a Junior Olympic event, will represent Team USA at the 18th Annual Whistler Cup in British Columbia from April 4-11.

and#8220;This was total domination by the Far West Division,and#8221; said Tom Arnstein, a Squaw Valley Ski Team coach. and#8220;The other divisions were in awe.and#8221;

The Squaw Valley Ski Team was particularly well represented among the race leaders, as Dianna Abbott won the women’s slalom, Maddie Johnson won the women’s giant slalom and Max Hall won the men’s combined to punch their tickets to Whistler.

Once there, they will team up with four female and four male athletes from the Eastern Region and Rocky/Central Region for time trials to determine who represents Team USA in what order. They’ll participate in super G, giant slalom and slalom races against young alpine ski racers from 50 countries around the world.

and#8220;These athletes have worked very hard all season for these results,and#8221; said coach Lee Schmidt of the Squaw Valley Ski Team. and#8220;This was a great group of athletes from the Far West Division who worked together, pushed each other to new heights and had a lot of fun doing it. There was some amazing ski racing going on, and I am very proud of these athletes.and#8221;

Recommended Stories For You

Other skiers to secure spots in the Whistler Cup with wins were Julia Bjorkman and Hannah Johnson of the Diamond Peak Ski Team, Hughston Norton of the Heavenly Valley Ski Team, Peter Papineau of the Park City Ski Team and KJ Savaria of the Sun Valley Ski Team.

Hall took second in the men’s super G, slalom and giant slalom, while Ty Sprock of the Sugar Bowl Ski Team finished third in the GS and fourth in the super G, and Nico Monforte of the Squaw Valley Ski Team was fifth in the super G and sixth in the slalom.

Squaw Valley’s Jordan Fuller, Cody Wilson and Owen Watenmaker finished seventh, ninth and 10th, respectively, in the super G, while in the GS, Squaw’s Erik Arvidsson, Garrett Driller and Wilson were fourth, sixth and eighth, and Sugar Bowl’s Chris Fitzpatrick was 10th. Arvidsson placed eighth in the slalom, Wilson was 12th, Dvoracek 13th and Driller 14th.

On the women’s side, Julia Cashell of the Squaw Valley Ski Team took third in the slalom and fifth in the super G. Abbott finished 10th in the super G and Squaw teammate Johanna Gur was 15th, while in the slalom race, Squaw Valley’s Natalie Demuro, Claire Deangeli, Maddie Johnson and Marie Johnson placed 10th, 11th, 14th and 15th, respectively.

The five divisions of the Western Region include Alaska, Pacific Northwest, Intermountain, Northern and Far West.