Tahoe Wolf Pack wins league title | SierraSun.com

Tahoe Wolf Pack wins league title

The Tahoe Wolf Pack hockey team defeated the Thrashers 8-3 in the championship game of the South Tahoe Hockey League on Dec. 6.

The win capped an undefeated season in which the Tahoe Wolf Pack finished 13-0-1. The Thrashers fell to 7-5-1 with the loss.

The Thrashers came out fast and skating hard, scoring the first goal with 15:11 left in the first period. Intense action ensued, with many shots on net for both teams.

Tom O’Neil of the Wolf Pack tied the score with 7:18 left in the first period on a sweet wrist shot. With 1:58 remaining in the first, the Thrashers scored to take a 2-1 lead.

Wolf Pack captain Dave Zwick chipped in the tying goal via an assist from O’Neil with 15:42 left in the second period. Wolf Pack player Kevin Rybacki then scored the go-ahead goal with 14:31 remaining.

Gore sent a zinger from the point with 6:42 left in the second, and the Wolf Pack’s Hartzell scored from 15 feet out on an assist from Zwick with 17:01 left in the third to give the Pack a 5-2 lead.

Conner Alexander then scored a nice wrist shot from 20 feet out, giving the Wolf Pack a 6-2 lead. Pat Jackson stuffed one in with 7:03 to play, and Tyler Alexander scored for the Wolf Pack with 3;28 to play to round out the Wolf Pack scoring.

Jeffery Reiker was named playoff MVP.

“I think that we’ve been holding back on our emotions for the last couple of days,” Zwick said. “It’s one of those things where it’s kind of surreal at this point. You can’t really fathom that we’ve got it done.”

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User