TRPA Board to see changes in 2009 |

TRPA Board to see changes in 2009

LAKE TAHOE “-The Tahoe Regional Planning Agency will see a series of changes in 2009 when the Governing Board takes on new leaders and elected members.

Allen Biaggi, Director of the Nevada Department of Conservation and Natural Resources, has been elected chair of the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency Governing Board.

Norma Santiago, El Dorado County Supervisor, has been elected vice chair. The two will preside over TRPA Governing Board meetings for two years beginning Jan. 1, 2009.

This is Biaggi’s second turn to serve as TRPA board chair since he became Nevada’s Conservation and Natural Resources chief in 2004. His first TRPA board chairmanship was in 2006 when completing the unfinished term of former board member Tim Smith.

In his state role, Biaggi oversees eight divisions of the Nevada state government including Conservation Districts, Forestry, Parks, Environmental Protection, Water Resources, State Lands, the Wild Horse Commission and the Natural Heritage Program. For the six years prior to his appointment as department director, Biaggi was the Administrator for the Nevada Division of Environmental Protection.

The TRPA chairmanship traditionally rotates bi-annually between California and Nevada board members. Mara Bresnick, who served as chair for the 2008 calendar year as the California Assembly Speaker’s appointee, has been informally designated to continue as the board’s lead point person on regional plan update matters.

The TRPA board is poised to seat four new members:

Las Vegas businessman Tim Cashman was elected as the board’s Nevada At-Large Member December 11, replacing Roy “RJ” Clason. Clason was appointed in July to complete the term of Reno attorney Coe Swobe, who left the board last summer. The Nevada At-Large member is elected by the TRPA board’s other six Nevada members, who comprise the Nevada Tahoe Regional Planning Agency.

Newly elected Placer County District 5 Supervisor Jennifer Montgomery of Donner Summit is expected to become the county’s representative on the Board, replacing Bruce Kranz.

Newly elected Washoe County District 1 Commissioner John Breternitz is expected to become the county’s representative on the board, replacing retiring Jim Galloway.

The City of South Lake Tahoe also will appoint a new member to replace Mayor Mike Weber. Weber did not seek reelection to the South Lake Tahoe City Council and will step down from his seat as the city’s representative on the governing board this month.

The TRPA Governing board is comprised of 15 members. Six are locally elected appointees from the City of South Lake Tahoe, Placer County, El Dorado County, Washoe County, Douglas County and Carson City. From Nevada, the Secretary of State, the conservation and natural resources chief, a governor’s appointee, and an at-large member selected by other Nevada members also sit on the board. From California, two governor’s appointees, an Assembly Speaker’s appointee, and an appointee of the Senate Rules Committee are seated.

The board’s 15th member is a non-voting appointee of the President of the United States. Stuart Yount of Incline Village, President George Bush’s appointee, holds that seat.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User