Truckee candidate, bond measure forums on tap |

Truckee candidate, bond measure forums on tap

TRUCKEE, Calif. andamp;#8212; The Truckee Donner Chamber of Commerce, Contractors Association of Truckee Tahoe, Mountain Area Preservation Foundation, Truckee Tahoe League of Women Voters, and the Tahoe Sierra Board of Realtors have teamed up with Truckee Tahoe Community Television, Sierra Sun and Moonshine Ink to provide two candidate forums aimed at enhancing voter education and participation in the upcoming election.The forums will be broadcast live from the Truckee Town Hall Council Chambers, at 10183 Truckee Airport Road. Additionally, TTCTV-Channel 24 will stream video on its home page at and air a series of reruns of the forums. Candidates will not only answer live audience questions, but will also answer questions submitted in advance.The first forum, moderated by Kathleen Eagan, will feature the Truckee Donner Public Utilities District Board candidates and the Truckee Donner Recreation and Park District Bond, Measure J. This forum is set for Thursday, Sept. 20, from 6-8 p.m.There are three seats open in the TDPUD race for a four-year term. Four candidates are vying for the three seats andamp;#8212; Joseph R. Aguera (incumbent), Jeff Bender (incumbent), David Gravell and Bob Ellis.Also covered that evening will be the Truckee-Donner Recreation andamp; Park District’s proposed $8.52 million, 30-year bond measure for an aquatic center and performing arts center. There will be speakers both for and against making presentations.The second forum, moderated by Stacey Caldwell, will focus on the Truckee Town Council and the Truckee Tahoe Airport District Board candidates. This forum is set for Thursday, Sept. 27, from 6-8 p.m.There are two seats open for the Truckee Town Council four-year term and one seat open for the two-year term. There are three candidates running for the four-year term andamp;#8212; Alicia Barr, Jamie Brimer and Joan deRyk Jones (incumbent) andamp;#8212; and three candidates running for the two-year term andamp;#8212; Denny Dickinson, Patrick Flora and Daryl Simms.The Truckee Tahoe Airport District Board has three seats open for the four-year term and one seat open for the two-year term. Four candidates are running for the four-year terms andamp;#8212; J. Thomas Van Berkem (incumbent), Mary Hetherington (incumbent), Lisa Wallace and Gregory Jellinek. Jim Morrison, an appointed incumbent, is running unopposed for the two-year term.Residents can email questions to the Truckee chamber in advance of the forums. Send questions to Please put andamp;#8220;Candidate Forum Questionandamp;#8221; in the subject line. Questions will be submitted to the panel anonymously. The deadline for emailed questions is the day before each forum. Members of the Sierra Sun and Moonshine Ink staffs will present questions to the panels of candidates and bond measure speakers.For more information, contact Carla Embertson at the Truckee Donner Chamber of Commerce at 530-587-2757.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User