Truckee football honored |

Truckee football honored

Emma Garrard/Sierra SunTruckee High football coach Bob Shaffer, addressing his team after an Oct. 6 win over Fernley, was voted Northern 3A Coach of the Year for leading the Wolverines to a 5-0 regular-season league record and 8-1 overall.

Cohesive team play helped lead an overachieving Truckee High football team to a 2007 regular-season league title.

While it took a total group effort to sweep through the league, Truckee’s balanced blend of camaraderie and talent can be traced directly to the individuals who made up the whole.

Their effort did not go unnoticed by Northern 3A coaches, who voted 13 Wolverines, as well as their head coach, Bob Shaffer, to the All-League squad.

Among those 13, Truckee players filled 19 spots between the offensive and defensive first and second teams and honorable mention, with certain players earning recognition for their play on both sides of the ball.

Shaffer, who reminded his league rivals why not to ever overlook the Wolverines ” even when Truckee is down on numbers and size, like this past season ” was voted Northern 3A Coach of the Year for leading his team to 5-0 record in league (8-1 overall). Fernley ended Truckee’s run in the opening round of playoffs.

Junior linebacker Ryan Macken, who led the Wolverines with 118 tackles ” 70 solo, 48 assisted ” was voted Defensive Player of the Year. Macken, who also made the first-team last year as a sophomore, recovered three fumbles while recording two quarterback sacks and two interceptions. He also scored Truckee’s only defensive touchdown of the season.

Truckee players named to the All-League first-team on offense include Ryan Roberts at receiver, Flynn Rice at tight end, Kevin Wood at center, Cruz Esquivel as a kicker and Keven Sahlberg as a return specialist.

Besides Macken, the defensive first-team includes Evan Hyland at defensive end, Pablo Esquivel at cornerback and Nick Tennant at safety.

Voted to the All-State second-team on offense were Robert Raber at running back, Brian Sipe at guard, Dillon Crosby at tackle and Sahlberg as a punter. Cruz Esquivel also earned offensive second-team recognition at running back.

On the defensive second-team, Truckee senior Paris Tenorio was voted on as a linebacker. Tenorio tallied 84 tackles ” 50 solo, 34 assisted for second-best on the team ” while forcing three fumbles, recovering one fumble and recording two sacks. Tenorio also played on the offensive line in addition to his linebacking duties.

Four Wolverines earned honorable mention recognition: Sahlberg at quarterback, Tenorio at tackle, Crosby on the defensive line and Raber at linebacker.

First team offense

Pos. Player School

QB Michael Royer Spring Creek

RB Mike Pickens Sparks

RB Aaron Quilici Sparks

RB Neil Kendricks Fernley

WR Zack Quilici Sparks

WR Ryan Roberts Truckee

TE Flynn Rice Truckee

C Kevin Wood Truckee

G Holden Clune Sparks

G Kevin Hart Fernley

T Jorge Nava Sparks

T Israel Ochoa Lowry

Mike Taschera Fernley

K Cruz Esquivel Truckee

P Austin Wilson Fernley

Return Specialist: Keven Sahlberg, Truckee

First team defense

DE Evan Hyland Truckee

DE Andrew Ritchson Fernley

DL Adan Lopez Sparks

DL Miguel Ovies Fernley

LB Kamas Wing Spring Creek

LB Mike Pickens Sparks

LB Austin Wilson Fernley

LB Ryan Macken Truckee

CB Zack Quilici Sparks

CB Pablo Esquivel Truckee

Cory Jansen Fernley

S Aaron Quilici Sparks

S Nick Tennant Truckee

Second team offense

QB Bryce Baker Fernley

RB Robert Raber Truckee

RB Cruz Esquivel Truckee

RB Trace Feemster Dayton

WR Joey Marquis Spring Creek

WR Jacob Lehman Fernley

TE Marcus Gonzalez Fernley

C Travis Stouffel Fernley

G Philip Treathaway Fernley

G Brian Sipe Truckee

T Dillon Crosby Truckee

T Zack Carrick Fernley

K Michael Royer Spring Creek

P Keven Sahlberg Truckee

Return Specialist: Nick Jackson, Lowry

Second team defense

DE Brad Boston Sparks

DE Michael Cox Lowry

DL Andrew Nash Spring Creek

DL Israel Ochoa Lowry

LB Anthony Onstott Dayton

LB Paris Tenorio Truckee

LB Kevin Hail Sparks

LB Tanner Schmidt Lowry

CB Jacob Patterson Spring Creek

CB Jacob Lehman Fernley

S Brian Bradley Fernley

S Alex Baker Spring Creek

Honorable mention offense

QB Keven Sahlberg Truckee

RB Bo Worley Sparks

RB Brandon Aguilera Dayton

RB Christian Alcazar Lowry

WR Brian Bradley Fernley

WR Jacob Moser Spring Creek

TE Jesse See Lowry

C Nick Schmidt Lowry

G Juan Rodellegas Dayton

G Brad Boston Sparks

T Jacob Ragsdale Lowry

T Paris Tenorio Truckee

K Angel Guillen Sparks

P Zack Quilici Sparks

Return Specialist: Jacob Patterson, S. Creek

Honorable mention defense

DE Vadim Gladwill Dayton

DE Tanner Wood Dayton

DL Dillon Crosby Truckee

DL Brian Keathley Fernley

LB Zack Smith Spring Creek

LB Thomas Higday Dayton

LB Logan Winheim Lowry

LB Robert Raber Truckee

CB Joey Marquis Spring Creek

CB Nick Jackson Lowry

S Bob O’Donnell Lowry

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User