Truckee Tahoe Airport District: Foster, Stevens, Starbard win seats |

Truckee Tahoe Airport District: Foster, Stevens, Starbard win seats

Truckee Tahoe Airport District

Ken ‘K.B.’ Foster* 4,776 22%

Connie Stevens 3,849 18%

Don Starbard* 3,046 14%

Lynne Larson 2,280 10%

F. Robert Marshall* 2,264 10%

Parvin Darabi 2,077 9%

George Simmons 1,912 9%

Bruce Kuecker 1,622 8%


Pilots are back on the Truckee Tahoe Airport District board, but nonpilot candidates made a strong showing in the polls.

Airport board President Ken Foster took a clear lead over the rest of the candidates, securing 22 percent of the votes in the bi-county district, according to semi-official final results Wednesday.

New board member Constance Stevens had 18 percent of the more than 21,000 votes cast and will replace incumbent board member F. Robert Marshall, who earned just 10 percent of the votes.

Stevens was unavailable for comment Wednesday.

Incumbent candidate Don Starbard will return to the board after spending a relatively quiet night at home watching the election unfold. Starbard received 14 percent of the votes.

The airport district is jointly divided between portions of Placer and Nevada County.

Lynne Larson received 10 percent of the votes and was just ahead of Parvin Darabi, George Simmons and Bruce Kuecker.

“I spent most of the time with my wife and son watching the general election,” Don Starbard said Wednesday morning. “I checked the results from the Web.”

Starbard said his daughter’s soccer team had just won the Northern Zone Championships so he was sharing victory excitement with her in particular.

“The fun thing is she just turned 18 so she got a chance to vote. So that was about as much fun as anything else,” he said.

Starbard is looking forward to returning to the board and working with new member Constance “Connie” Stevens.

“I think Connie’s heart is in aviation,” he said.

Starbard also said he feels the number of people who voted for nonpilots further validates their platform, but that it won’t change airport policy.

“I respect their position. But I think we have always looked out for the community, pilots and nonpilots,” he said. “I hope I represent the taxpayers as well as the aviators.”

Ken Foster noted that the order of the winners was the same in both counties, which was a surprise.

“The airport board must continue to pursue reducing airport noise and improving communication with the community,” Foster said following the election results.

“Lynne Larson will continue to monitor and solve problems she is passionate about. I know she will return to meetings and I will be disappointed if she does not,” he said.

The airport board will choose a new president and vice president in their next board meeting.

“I certainly hope the new [airport board] president takes on a powerful leadership role with the community,” Foster said. “How the new president does that remains to be seen.”

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User