Truckee Town Council: Changing of the guard |

Truckee Town Council: Changing of the guard

Greyson Howard
Sierra Sun
Greyson Howard/Sierra SunJoan Jones and Barbara Green are sworn in as Truckee Town Council members by Town Clerk Judy Price as fellow Council Member Carolyn Wallace Dee looks on Thursday evening.

TRUCKEE ” Barbara Green and Joan Jones were sworn-in to Truckee Town Council Thursday night.

“Welcome to the world of local politics,” said Nevada County Supervisor Ted Owens.

Dr. Mark Brown and Carolyn Wallace Dee were also voted in as the new mayor and vice mayor, respectively.

But what elicited the most comments, thanks, and well-wishers was council member Josh Susman stepping down.

Owens, S.R. Jones of Nevada County Local Area Formation Commission, Lisa Wallace of the Truckee River Watershed Council, former council members Kathleen Eagan and Craig Threshie, opponent Jamie Brimer and fellow council members Dee, Brown, and Green all thanked Susman for his 12 years of service on the council.

“I leave the town council knowing you will lead with your hearts,” Susman said, then added jokingly, “I ask only one thing ” don’t screw it up.”