Donner Summit 2011 Community Person of the Year announced |

Donner Summit 2011 Community Person of the Year announced

Special to the Sun

SODA SPRINGS, Calif. and#8212; The Donner Summit Area Association (DSAA) announced the 2011 Community Person of the Year at their Annual Community Picnic on July 2. DSAA developed the Community Person of the Year award in 2008 as a way to build community and to recognize the outstanding efforts of the communityand#8217;s most ardent supporters. Many people were nominated by community members including: Brendan Curtis, Steve Elias, Gregory Englund, Jeff Krebill, Nancy Latimer, Tamara Lieberman, Stephen Lieberman, Maria Montano, Cheryl Paduano, Margie Powell, Dave Oneto, Bill Oudegeest, and Robert Sherwood.

Of the many nominees longtime Donner Summit advocate Margie Powell was awarded the title. Unfortunately, Margie passed away this spring. She was introduced by a moving remembrance from her friend, Bill Oudegeest and Norm Sayler accepted the award on Margieand#8217;s behalf. Margie leaves behind a legacy of hard work and a philosophy that we all have a stake in our communities and it is up to us to make them better. Her life was devoted to others as a mother, a teacher and active community member. She was a guiding light for the Summit homeownersand#8217; group where she volunteered, doing the newsletter for a quarter of a century, volunteering for special events, and taking care of merchandise. Margieand#8217;s enduring passion for history, combined with her love for the mountains, compelled her to research, write, and publish her book and#8220;Donner Summit: A Brief History.and#8221; Then she felt it was time to and#8220;retire.and#8221; She retired to founding the Donner Summit Historical Society and it was into the DSHS she poured her energy until the end of her life.

and#8212; Submitted to

Support Local Journalism

Your support means a better informed community.