Excellence in Education Foundation accepting nominations for Linda Brown Fellows and Star Awards | SierraSun.com

Excellence in Education Foundation accepting nominations for Linda Brown Fellows and Star Awards

Courtesy Excellence in Education2011/2012 Linda Brown Fellows Award recipients from left: Nancy McNair, North Tahoe School; Peggy Heidelberger-Smith, North Tahoe High School; Carol Reed, Lissa Johnson and Terrina Woodard, Glenshire Elementary School.

TAHOE/TRUCKEE, Calif. and#8212; The Tahoe Truckee Excellence in Education Foundation is now accepting nominations for the 2012/2013 Linda Brown Fellows Awards and the Star Awards. Linda Brown Fellows Award recipients each receive $2,000 to be used to enhance educational work within the district. In addition, both Linda Brown Fellows awards recipients and Star Award recipients receive $1,000 for their personal use.

The Fellows Program was created 15 years ago to help promote and acknowledge excellence in education. It was named in honor of Linda Brown, a longtime teacher in the school district and a past president of the Excellence in Education Foundation. The honor is presented to outstanding teachers and staff members who demonstrate originality, innovation and dedication to the teaching profession that is above and beyond the normally high standards of the Tahoe Truckee Unified School District (TTUSD).

The Star Award recognizes classified employees who positively impact the lives of the students by providing outstanding support in their positions. All certificated and classified employees in the TTUSD who are employed for at least 80 percent of the school year are eligible for the awards.

The Foundation is asking the community to help identify and celebrate more of these wonderful educators. Award nominations may come from parents and community members, as well as any TTUSD faculty or staff member. Self-nominations or nominations from Excellence in Education board members will not be accepted. Nomination forms, can be found at all district schools, the district office, or online at http://www.exined.org and must be postmarked or hand delivered to the Excellence in Education office at 11071 Donner Pass Road in Truckee by Thursday, May 3, 2012. The 2012-2013 recipients will be announced in the fall.

For more information, please call 530-550-7984 or visit exined.org.

and#8212; Submitted to aedgett@sierrasun.com

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User