Foundation honors donors, Fellows and Star recipients |

Foundation honors donors, Fellows and Star recipients

Excellence in Education honored its major donors from the 2010-2011 fiscal year. The following organizations contributed $10,000 or more to the foundation through participation in various fundraising programs: Pictured from left: Julie Maurer, Squaw Valley; Robb Entyre, Tahoe Donner Association; Carla Yeager, Martis Camp; Renee LaChat, Tahoe Mountain Club; Bill Rock, Northstar-at-Tahoe; Ron Farrell, Wells Fargo Home Mortgage (event sponsor); Bill Hudson, Sugar Bowl; Ann Delforge, Excellence in Education Foundation president. Also recognized in this category, Coyote Moon, Old Brockway Golf Course, Resort at Squaw Creek and Tahoe City Golf Course.

TAHOE/TRUCKEE, Calif. and#8212; On Sept. 22 the Tahoe Truckee Excellence in Education hosted its annual recognition event at the Olympic Valley Lodge in Squaw Valley celebrating its donors, Fellows and Star award recipients and foundation accomplishments.

More than 200 people attended the event and enjoyed a beautiful fall evening with entertainment by the Truckee High School Jazz Band. During the 2010-2011 fiscal year, Excellence in Education funded more than $110,000 in grants to the classrooms and teachers of Tahoe Truckee Unified School District. The foundation would like to thank Wells Fargo Home Mortgage for generously sponsoring the evening’s event. The event also included a thoughtfully produced video featuring each of last year’s recipients in action.

The Linda Brown Fellows Awards recognize teachers who demonstrate originality, innovation and dedication to the teaching profession that is above and beyond the normally high standards of TTUSD. Excellence in Education is proud of the Fellows program and feels it is a great way for the community and#8212; parents, students and fellow teachers and#8212; to acknowledge the tremendous work being done in the classroom.

The 2011-12 Linda Brown Fellows recipients are: Terrina Woodard, Glenshire Elementary School; Lissa Johnson, Glenshire Elementary School; Carol Reed, Glenshire Elementary School; Nancy McNair, North Tahoe School; Peggy Heidelberger-Smith, North Tahoe High School. Recipients each received $2,000 for educational purposes within the district and $1,000 for their personal use.

The Star Award is given to recognize classified employees who positively impact the lives of the students by providing outstanding support in their positions.

The 2011-12 Star Award recipients are: Blanca Covell, North Tahoe High School; Salvador Torres, Kings Beach Elementary School; Evelyn Foster, Truckee High School; Laura Walton, Tahoe Lake School; Nancy Welsh, Glenshire Elementary School. Each will receive $1,000 for personal use.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User