Nominations for Tahoe Truckee Unified School District education awards due May 7 |

Nominations for Tahoe Truckee Unified School District education awards due May 7

Top from left: 2008 Fellows recipients Candy Blesse, Sue Mock, Claire Boyle, Karen Pilaar, Mike Depew. Bottom from left: Star Award recipients Marci Calderon, Deed Verutti, Clemente Sarabia.

The Tahoe Truckee Excellence in Education Foundation is now accepting nominations for the 2009/2010 Linda Brown Fellows Awards and the Star Award. The Fellows Program is designed to recognize outstanding teachers and staff members who demonstrate originality, innovation and dedication to the teaching profession that is above and beyond the normally high standards of the Tahoe Truckee Unified School District (TTUSD). The Star Award recognizes classified employees who positively impact the lives of the students by providing outstanding support in their positions. All certificated and classified employees in the TTUSD who are employed for at least 80 percent of the school year are eligible for the awards. Linda Brown Fellows Award recipients each receive $2,000 to be used to enhance educational work within the district. In addition, both Linda Brown Fellows awards recipients and Star Award recipients receive $1,000 for their personal use.

The Fellows Program was created to help promote and acknowledge excellence in education. It was named in honor of Linda Brown, a longtime teacher in the school district and a past president of the Excellence in Education Foundation. The honor is presented to teachers who set their personal expectations high and make learning exciting every day. The 2008-2009 recipients are: Claire Boyle, Tahoe Lake Elementary; Candy Blesse, Truckee Elementary; Mike Depew, Community School; Sue Mock, Alder Creek Middle School and Karen Pilaar, Glenshire Elementary.

The Star Award is given to recognize classified employees who positively impact the lives of students by providing outstanding support in their positions. The 2008-2009 Star Award recipients are: Marci Calderon, Kings Beach Elementary; Clemente Sarabia, Truckee High School; Deed Verutti, Tahoe Lake Elementary and Chris White, Truckee High School.

The Foundation is looking to the community to help identify and celebrate more of these wonderful educators. Linda Brown Fellows and Star Award nominations may come from parents and community members, as well as any TTUSD faculty or staff member. Self-nominations or nominations from Excellence in Education board members will not be accepted. Nomination forms, which may be found at all district schools, the district office, or online at, must be postmarked or hand delivered to the Excellence in Education office, 11071 Donner Pass Road, Truckee by Thursday, May 7, 2009. The 2009-2010 recipients will be announced in the fall.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.