Soroptimist honor Truckee youth

The Truckee Donner Chapter of Soroptimist International honored dedicated students at Zano's restaurant May 21.

The Truckee Donner Chapter of Soroptimist International hosted their annual Youth Appreciation Luncheon on May 21, 2009 at Zano’s Restaurant in Truckee.

Teachers were asked to select students who are and#8220;diligent, dependable, regularly attend class, always willing to go beyond what is expected and a joy to be around.and#8221; Students from Truckee High School were chosen by their teachers from individual departments.

The honorees also included three exceptional foreign exchange students who were recognized for applying and being accepted to attend school in Truckee for one year. Sierra High School teachers also chose three outstanding students. Each student received a Certificate of Recognition, a Wild Cherries gift card and lunch.

The Education Committee Members of Soroptimist wish to thank Assistant Principal Grant Steunenberg of Truckee High School, Principal Jane Loomis and mathematics teacher Jeff Spoering of Sierra High School for their assistance in coordinating the student luncheon.

And the winners are: Sierra High School: Jennifer Castello, Isabel Barajas, Brenda Medina; Truckee High School: Rachel Bove, Cynthia Brenes, Leigh Collins, Lena Frenzer, Corina Harvey (Music), Aaron Jones, Kaylyn Keller, Wendi Olvias, Ryan Pearce, Tracy Pearson, Melissa Popnoe, Siri Raustein, Egberto Spricigo, Nick Silva and Imelda Valdez.

Contact President Alissa Just at 587-6681 for information.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.