Truckee Donner Soroptimist host Youth Luncheon at Zano’s |

Truckee Donner Soroptimist host Youth Luncheon at Zano’s

Special to the Sun
This group of students was honored by the Truckee Donner chapter of Soroptimist International at Zano's in Truckee.

TRUCKEE, Calif. and#8212; The Truckee Donner chapter of Soroptimist International hosted their annual Youth Appreciation Luncheon May 26, at Zano’s Restaurant in Truckee. Each department at Truckee High School chose one studen. Four students were chosen from Sierra High School. Each student had a nominating description citing their accomplishments written by one of their teachers. Truckee High School also had five exceptional foreign exchange students who were recognized for applying and being accepted to attend school in Truckee. Teachers were asked to select students who are and#8220;diligent, dependable, regularly attend class, a joy to be around, and always willing to go beyond what is expected.and#8221; The students received lunch at Zano’s, a certificate of recognition, and a gift card from Wild Cherries.

The Education Committee Members of Soroptimist wish to thank Dr. Putney and Mr. Stuenenberg of Truckee High School and Ms. Loomis and Mrs. Stonick of Sierra High School for their assistance in coordinating the student selection process. This event demonstrates what outstanding students attend local schools.

Sara Martinez, Peter Whitelock, Gus Cerda and Jenny Estrada.

Ale Randall for Yearbook, Maricruz Nunez for Math, Forrest Griffin for Foreign Language, Estelle Bovley for Art, Sergio Garcia for Resource, Katherine Eikam for Music, Dulce Valdiria for Citizenship Award, Alison Costa for Channel 6/ROP, Annika Nousiainen for Social Science, Luis Garcia for ESL, Josh Sensley for English, Jessee Fereira for Physical Education, Shane Fisher for Office Aide, Jonas Hald for Exchange Student, Rebecca Schroeder for Exchange Student, Ei Tsuchida for Exchange Student, Matias Brave for Exchange Student, Rachel Morgan for Counseling, Gilles Ganassia for Exchange Student, Andrea Venegas for Health, Kelsey Falkenburg for Student Leadership and Jonnie Lay for Culinary Arts.

and#8212; Submitted to