Truckee’s hometown parade winners announced |

Truckee’s hometown parade winners announced

Amy Edgett/Sierra Sun

TRUCKEE, Calif. – The Wells Fargo stagecoach rolls along part of its historic route in downtown Truckee. The annual Fourth of July parade was hosted by the Truckee Downtown Merchants Assoc., the town of Truckee, and the Truckee Donner Chamber of Commerce. 2012 judges were: Truckee Mayor Joan Jones, Katie Jones, Hartley Lesser, Pattie Lesser, Ted Owens, Tonya Beyer (chair, Truckee Donner Chamber of Commerce) and Wes Beyer. Jim Simon, of Porter-Simon, was a quick-witted Master of Ceremonies. Grand Marshalls – Citizens of the Year were Leticia Aguilar and Jeff Sparksworthy. The theme was Spirit of Sierra, with the following winning entries: Best of Show – Tahoe Donner Association; Mayor’s Award – Humane Society of Truckee-Tahoe; Spirit of Sierra – Truckee Donner Recreation and Park District; Non Profit – American Cancer Society – Relay for Life of Truckee Tahoe; Commercial – Play Date Preschool; Youth Group – Cub Scouts Pack 734; Classic Auto – Truckee Antique Wheels & Fine Rides. Visit the Sierra Sun’s Facebook page for photo gallery:

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User