Tahoe real estate: ‘Gold Medal Home Tour’ coming to Squaw Valley
August 3, 2016
OLYMPIC VALLEY, Calif. — You may not be traveling to Rio for the Olympics this summer, but you can still have an Olympic experience.
Consider attending the Gold Medal Home Tour in Squaw Valley, site of the 1960 Winter Olympics, from noon to 4 p.m. Thursday, August 11.
This is the 43rd annual Home Tour sponsored by the North Lake Tahoe Historical Society and is known for its choices of historic and lovely homes.
There are five stops on this 2016 Olympic-themed tour, each with its own story.
The home of Eddy and Osvaldo Ancinas is on the Truckee River beside the old train route from Truckee to Tahoe Tavern pier.
Osvaldo, a downhill racer, came to Squaw Valley in 1960 as a member of the Argentine ski team. He also competed in 1964. The gardens are breathtaking. Architect David Tucker designed the house in 1979.
Recommended Stories For You
The Poulsen estate, built in 1978 by Squaw Valley's founding family, Wayne and Sandy Poulsen, came after the Poulsen's eight children had left the nest.
The custom-crafted main home, which includes an indoor swimming pool, is designed with the detail of a European chalet. The house is on almost 30 acres in the heart of the Valley.
Osvaldo Ancinas was the ski coach for several of the Poulsen children. Three, Lance, Eric and Sandy, made the U.S. Ski Team for the 1972 Olympics.
The home of Alice and Paul Arthur is on the site of the first ski lift in the Valley, a rope tow. As Alice and Paul have gardened over the years they have come across pieces from the original lift.
Alice, in 1976, a single mom with three children, pulled into Squaw Valley in her VW Van and bought the classic A-frame cabin.
In 1990 she married contractor Paul Arthur who did an extensive remodel of the home. Today it is four stories and looks out over the Valley and the lovely gardens designed by Alice, a master gardener.
In 1957 Herb Magnuson bought three lots directly from Wayne Poulsen and built his home in preparation for the Winter Olympics. Norwegian architect Henrik Bull designed the house and engineered the roof to hold the snow as insulation. It can comfortably sleep 15 with the large two-story glass facade that makes the home feel spacious.
The Squaw Valley Chapel was built in 1959 for the Protestant athletes and attendees of the 1960 Winter Olympics and is one of only a few buildings left from those Olympics.
The church maintained a ministry in the Valley from 1960 to 1972, then closed its doors and fell into disrepair. In 1994 Rev. Guthrie Swartz gathered a group of volunteers who cleaned, repaired and restored the Chapel, which reopened as a congregation of the United Church of Christ.
In 2003 the building underwent further restoration. In 2010 the stained glass was restored to complete the renovation of the sanctuary.
Refreshments, catered by Mountain Magic, will be served on the Chapel grounds throughout the home tour.
For more information call the Gatekeeper's Museum, 530-583-1762. Tickets, $55 each, are available from the Museum.
Trending In: Real Estate
- 945-acre Northstar-area land portfolio sold to Nor Cal developer Mountainside Builders
- Intero Real Estate to celebrate grand opening of Truckee office
- Sierra Sotheby’s: Tahoe luxury market defies gravity amid downturn
- Study: Incline Village fourth best place to retire in Nevada
- Big benefits to owning property in Nevada
- Tahoe Mountain Club set to close in February
- Nevada County customers lose home insurance; some see double, triple increases
- Vail Resorts gives $1.9M to Truckee, South Lake Tahoe nonprofits
- Sierra cinema: Tahoe-Truckee has been the setting for 100 years of feature film
- John Ward: Airport Board member Lisa Wallace’s apology falls short