Recent Stories | SierraSun.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

Pine Nuts: Grounded for life

January 21, 2019 — Johnnie Walker (real name) was the coolest dude in our 1957 eighth-grade class. He liked girls and girls liked him, at a time when most the rest of us boys still thought girls were yucky. Mr. Lawrence was our teacher. His diagramming of a sentence

Learn more »

Law Review: Supreme Court ruling on eviction after foreclosure

January 20, 2019 — California foreclosure law is complicated. During and after the recession, I counselled hundreds of folks facing foreclosure and loss of their homes. Fortunately that area of my legal practice has slowed dramatically. If you have any interest in foreclosures you may want to read today's

Learn more »

Don Rogers: Oh, you think you know?

January 18, 2019 — News flash: You are not reasonable, not remotely. This most basically is what we need to know about ourselves, our politics, our whole framework of thinking, our worldview: What we know to be true almost certainly isn't. But me? Nah. I'm exempt, of course. I'm

Learn more »

Bryan DeVoe: If you see a campaign violation, have it investigated

January 13, 2019 — Two elections ago during the campaign for the airport board there were two incumbents running for re election, the airport published their quarterly newspaper with pictures and glowing info of those two incumbent candidates. This was about the same time the City of Roseville was

Learn more »

Pine Nuts: Enchantment in a contrail

January 13, 2019 — Since I started walking instead of running I'm enchanted by the simplest things. I guess I traded in "runner's high" for "walker's enchantment," not a bad trade. Just yesterday I saw a pageant played out in the sky I had never seen before, and never

Learn more »

Law Review: USA Water Polo liable for youth sports injury?

January 12, 2019 — We have written several columns on what is called the "Assumption of the Risk" doctrine. Generally, sports and action participants are found to have assumed the risk of injuries inherent in the sport itself. Examples include skiers falling in moguls, a baseball player being hit

Learn more »

Deirdre Henderson: When will feds ‘get their act together’ on forest management?

January 11, 2019 — When will feds 'get their act together' on forest management? President Trump recently tweeted that he is ordering FEMA to cut off aid to California's wildfire victims until California "gets its act together" on forest management. Apparently, the president needs to be reminded that 57

Learn more »

Don Rogers: A wall against reality

January 11, 2019 — When it comes to crime, illegal immigrants are better citizens than the American-born. Surprised? You shouldn't be. It's only what the numbers show, year after year, and the studies find. Viewed a whole 'nother way, we know when an illegal immigrant commits murder because the

Learn more »

Principal’s Corner: Exciting ways to serve students

January 8, 2019 — North Tahoe High School is a special place. You walk on campus and you immediately feel the Laker pride. We have a strong reputation for excellence which has led to a 30 percent increase in enrollment in the past five years! How do we do

Learn more »

Pine Nuts: The happiest place in the world

January 4, 2019 — I thought Disneyland was the happiest place on Earth until today. According to a United Nations survey, Finland is the happiest country on the planet, and the small town of Kauniainen, pronounced: COW-nee-AY-nen, population 10,000, is in fact, the happiest place on Earth. But why?

Learn more »

Don Rogers: About the future …

January 4, 2019 — I stood in the pews the last Sunday of the year as the women in the band sang and congregants lifted one hand, some both, while they swayed and sang, too. The piano player spoke of the world as a dark place with Jesus a

Learn more »

Jan Zabriskie: Timing of donation disturbing

January 3, 2019 — Timing of donation disturbing Big-time money landed on local politics with a thud in the last election cycle, and the dust has not cleared. A donor made a pair of contributions totaling $14,600 to two incumbents running for re-election to the airport district board. This

Learn more »

Tom Mooers: Sierra Watch remembers Judge William A. Newsom

January 2, 2019 — This month we gathered in Dutch Flat for the funeral of Bill Newsom. For a guy who had been everywhere — and knew everyone, it was no accident that he chose a final resting place beneath the cedar and the pine of his beloved Sierra.

Learn more »

Don Rogers: Journalists’ stock rises

January 2, 2019 — It's not a gift exactly, though I greeted the news Christmas Day that way. Public esteem for journalists has grown to the highest level in more than four decades, according to a new Gallup poll. There's a small wow! This despite the president's constant backhands

Learn more »

Natalia Dodova: Avalanche Awareness Presentations planned

December 31, 2018 — I am the mother of Nickolay Dodov, who was killed in an avalanche on Thankin Ridge, Haines, Alaska on March 13, 2012. My husband Alex and I started Nickolay Dodov Foundation five years ago in the name of our son. The mission is to spread

Learn more »

Pine Nuts: Private orals versus public morals

December 26, 2018 — Today's private and public morals, though married, are living apart, so far apart they are no longer sleeping in the same time zones. The relatively nascent divorce of private and public morals is a result of a slow tectonic shift from the morality of George

Learn more »

Cartoon by Rex Norman

December 21, 2018 —

Learn more »

Diana Hitchen and Mark Reynolds: Giving revenue to people can calm the carbon pricing angst seen in France

December 21, 2018 — In their well-intentioned effort to reduce greenhouse gas emissions that cause climate change, the French government announced it would increase fuel taxes to discourage driving and encourage low-carbon transportation. It did not go over well. Violent demonstrations erupted in the streets of Paris and other

Learn more »

Law Review: The Stella Awards … fake news (but funny)

December 21, 2018 — You've probably heard of the Stella Awards named after Stella Liebeck who burned herself with hot coffee from McDonald's and successfully sued McDonald's (the award was later dramatically reduced by the court). If you want to get your blood boiling about lawyers, how bad they

Learn more »

Don Rogers: Write where you fear most

December 21, 2018 — Josh Weil's keynote talk at the Sierra Writers Conference next month will be awesome. I can't wait. I mean awesome in a different way, too. Not only in the very cool sense the conference organizers were fortunate enough to land him, a coup. Weil, who

Learn more »