Recent Stories | SierraSun.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

Law Review: Local fossil (Porter) opines on fossil found in Montana

November 17, 2018 — "Once upon a time, in a place now known as Montana, dinosaurs roamed the land. On a fateful day, some 66 million years ago, two such creatures, a 22-foot-long theropod and a 28-foot-long ceratopsian, engaged in mortal combat. While history has not recorded the circumstances

Learn more »

Don Rogers: The home fires

November 16, 2018 — Mom had in mind a clean, cheaper place called Canoe House, a step or two up from McDonald's harkening back to our life in Hawaii. Early childhood for me, happy young family memories for her. My wife and I were thinking something fancier, and we

Learn more »

Ted Gaines: More government spending equals more taxes

November 13, 2018 — This year's legislative session ended in September but you'll feel the damage to your pocketbooks for years to come. I will give my Democrat colleagues credit for consistency, at least, because every year they come up with new and creative ways to spend taxpayer money,

Learn more »

Kurt Reinkens: Affordable living with Grocery Outlet unlocks affordable housing

November 12, 2018 — One of the untalked-about issues surrounding our regional housing crisis is the overall cost of living in Truckee and North Tahoe that stretches local families to their financial limits. Housing prices in our region are undoubtedly high, but the compounding factor is the steep cost

Learn more »

Law Review: New laws for 2019 (Round 1)

November 12, 2018 — The Legislature passed and Gov. Jerry signed 1,016 laws this year. Not a record, but nothing to sneeze at. Here is the first (random) sampling, more to come in future columns. Pet-Friendly Parks — Not later than July 1, 2020, owners of pets will have

Learn more »

Law Review: Heavenly Resort liable for runaway rescue sled?

November 2, 2018 — Accidents happen. Sometimes they happen in our backyard – like Heavenly Resort at South Lake Tahoe. Teresa Martine was skiing down Powder Bowl when her kneecap "moved out and back in." She called for ski patrol. SKI PATROL TOBOGGAN ACCIDENT Volunteer ski patroller Gus Horn

Learn more »

Leigh Golden: Vote David Polivy for Truckee Town Council

November 2, 2018 — As a resident of Truckee for 20 years I have been concerned that our current Town Council does not fully represent the interests of our community, which is why this next election is so important for our small mountain town. As a local pilot and

Learn more »

John Britto: Truckee needs Anna Klovstad on its Town Council

November 2, 2018 — In 25 years, the Town of Truckee has come a long way. Early on, the primary focus of the Town Council was roads and development. That was appropriate given the issues we were facing. Not to diminish the accomplishments of those who came before, but

Learn more »

Ed Miller: Vote Wilkins for Tahoe City PUD

November 1, 2018 — I have known Dan Wilkins for years, and support his candidacy to continue as a director of the Tahoe City Public Utility District. As a civil engineer, and director of Public Works for the Town of Truckee, Dan is uniquely qualified to serve on the

Learn more »

Deirdre Henderson: Urge our elected officials to put price on carbon

November 1, 2018 — On Oct. 8, the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) issued its latest report on the effects of carbon pollution. It said that we have to move much faster than previously thought to curb greenhouse gas emissions if we want to avoid the worst effects

Learn more »

Nikki Caravelli: Chelsea Waltersheid is my first choice for Town Council

November 1, 2018 — I am a born and raised Truckee-Tahoe local, and am proud to say that Chelsea Waltersheid is my first choice for one of the three open Town Council spots this November. It's not just because she is also a born and raised local. Nor is

Learn more »

Michelle Parker: For the future of the great outdoors, vote Morse

November 1, 2018 — As a professional athlete, I have scaled the granite walls of Yosemite, biked along the Tahoe Rim Trail, and paddled the sparkling blue waters of Lake Tahoe. I first learned to ski at Squaw Valley, the same iconic ski resort where I eventually launched my

Learn more »

Charles Benner: While thousands of homes burn

November 1, 2018 — Wildfires are getting bigger, stronger, and more frequent. Six of the most destructive wildfires in California's history have occurred in just the past 10 months. Ninety-seven percent of the world's scientists agree the major cause of increased fires is global warming. Our Congressman Tom McClintock

Learn more »

Benjamin Trustman: Town Council candidates will define direction for Truckee

November 1, 2018 — Growing up in Truckee, I have seen incredible change. The upcoming election is not only important for our country, but it will have major impacts locally. The next group of Truckee Town Council members will be tasked with updating our General Plan, which will define

Learn more »

Geoff Quine: Join me in voting Polivy for Town Council

November 1, 2018 — I will be voting for Dave Polivy for Truckee Town Council and I hope you will join me. I have lived in the Truckee/North Tahoe area for 23 years, am a high school teacher at a local public charter school and serve on the board

Learn more »

Matt Tucker: Vote for clean energy

November 1, 2018 — The International Panel on Climate Change has just come out with their latest report on the predicted effects of climate change, and its pretty frightening. To summarize, they have moved up the timetable — now all of us alive in 2040 will see vast changes

Learn more »

Don Rogers: Answer’s in the mirror

November 1, 2018 — Dud pipe bombs and a deranged bigot with hot semiautomatics in Pittsburgh have twisted the knobs clean off these midterms, already overwrought. The timing of hard words taken to the next awful level this close to Election Day also blew up any lingering sanctimony over

Learn more »

Consider the future when voting for Congress

October 30, 2018 — At the end of our Nordic ski season, we were frustrated by below average snowfall and also fearful of what climate change means for our futures. So, we sent a petition to Tom McClintock, our region's representative in Congress. This summer, McClintock's office responded with

Learn more »

Pine Nuts: Trailblazing Nevada

October 27, 2018 — On the morning of Oct. 10, Peter Barton, our Nevada administrator of museums & history, orchestrated a masterful grand opening of the new exhibit in the Battle Born Hall of the capitol building, "Trailblazing Nevada." The morning began In the Olde Assembly Chamber with opening

Learn more »

Law Review: Bulwer-Lytton Contest winners

October 26, 2018 — As you faithful readers recall, we annually present a handful of our favorite Bulwer-Lytton Fiction Contest winners. For you new readers, the Bulwer-Lytton Contest is named after novelist Edward George Earl Bulwer-Lytton who wrote many famous novels including "Paul Gifford" which started with the immortal

Learn more »