Recent Stories | SierraSun.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

Cartoon by Killbuck

March 17, 2019 —

Learn more »

Pine Nuts: Sweet memories of Mexico

March 17, 2019 — Spending last week in Cabo San Lucas saved me from Seasonal Attitude Disorder as I returned home tanned, rested and ready to run for office. A sunny disposition is money in your pocket, it cuts down on your doctor bills and keeps you from sourin'.

Learn more »

Law Review: Residential lease notices can be tricky

March 16, 2019 — Landlords, listen up because many of you are making mistakes in your residential lease notices, which is understandable given the complexity of California laws — forever adding new notice requirements for residential landlords. 30 Versus 60-Day Notice For about a million years, residential landlords and

Learn more »

Don Rogers: Beyond tooth and claw

March 15, 2019 — Two of my favorite books — "Engineering Eden," "The Beast in the Garden" — weave gripping accounts of deadly wild animal attacks with ecological missteps that led to these tragedies and remain profound dilemmas. I'm thrilled. I'm educated. Much better than those dry textbooks, old

Learn more »

Gregory J. Diaz: Some thoughts about voting

March 11, 2019 — Something new has cropped up in our county, echoing actions elsewhere. Groups are trying to persuade voters not to Vote by Mail in our March 26, 2019 Special Vacancy Election for State Senator (District 1). The Nevada County Tea Party is one of those. In

Learn more »

Pine Nuts: Who is Ethical AI?

March 10, 2019 — Ethical Al is the guy whose job it will be to save the planet, no small task. Al was born late last month in my mind when I mistakenly read a headline, "Microsoft President Meets with Pope to Consider Ethical AI," which I read as,

Learn more »

Barry Triestman: Lightening the load while shoveling out in Truckee, Tahoe

March 9, 2019 — Snow shoveling most often affects the back, but one-third of the heart attacks occur the day after a substantial snowfall. In addition, researchers have found a "dose response trend" showing the more it snowed (the deeper the snow, or the more consecutive days it snowed)

Learn more »

Law Review: HOA decision given judicial deference (and a special election recommendation)

March 9, 2019 — Our resort community is loaded with homeowners associations – governed by a law known as the Davis Stirling Act. Being on a homeowner board is often a thankless job, but California courts have made it easier. 'NO BUSINESSES ALLOWED IN SUBDIVISION' In 1966, a 28-lot

Learn more »

Cartoon by Killbuck

March 8, 2019 —

Learn more »

Don Rogers: Why do we do what we do?

March 8, 2019 — When it feels like work, maybe that's a sign. I'm puzzling this through, considering my job, the best, the worst of jobs. By which I mean the most interesting of jobs, full of wisdom, foolishness, hope, despair. Kind of like these times: Transformative. Which is

Learn more »

Jennifer Montgomery: Mixed emotions in stepping away as Placer County supervisor for new role

March 6, 2019 — In 2008, when you first elected me to be your Placer County Supervisor, I pledged to work for you, listen to you and do everything in my power to give you strong representation at the county level. I have done that to the very best

Learn more »

Pine Nuts: The Mets, the Jets and the moon

March 3, 2019 — One of the nicest things about living to be 75 is you get to relive events that happened a half century ago as their golden anniversaries appear in the papers. This year we're remembering events of 1969, away back when this writer was a 25-year-old

Learn more »

Joanne Marchetta: Shaping Lake Tahoe’s future through collaboration

March 3, 2019 — We are stronger at Lake Tahoe when we work together. Everyone benefits when people of different interests, backgrounds, and perspectives agree to bring their ideas, energy, and creativity to the table to shape solutions for a healthier, more vibrant, and sustainable Lake Tahoe. Working together

Learn more »

Cartoon by Killbuck

March 2, 2019 —

Learn more »

Law Review: Insurer cancels life insurance policy over technicality — oops

March 2, 2019 — This is a fascinating life insurance policy case, if there is such a thing, where the trial court ruled for Farmers New World Life Insurance Company, but the ruling was overturned by the Second District Court of Appeal in California, who ruled in favor of

Learn more »

Don Rogers: What, wrong view will melt you?

March 1, 2019 — Sometimes I get a call, more often an email. Facebook will light up with comments. Out and about, I'll hear how the paper has gone too liberal or so, so right-winged. I have the privilege of being able to join gatherings across the spectrum, to

Learn more »

Lori Tucker: Concern over growth with changes to Gray’s Crossing in Truckee

March 1, 2019 — I read with concern the plan to increase the housing at the Gray's Crossing development from 725 to 765 units. With an average of two adults per unit, this will increase the auto traffic as much as 1,530 cars per day, possibly more. I know

Learn more »

Chris Arth: School start times and the board

March 1, 2019 — School start times and the board In a recent editorial I outlined summary views supporting delayed school start times per various academic societies such as the Academy of Pediatrics, the CDC, Sleep societies and national PTA (to name a few). On reflection, I did not

Learn more »

Louise Zabriskie: Support for new Truckee library facility regardless of town, county operation

March 1, 2019 — I would like to correct an impression left by Sierra Sun's Feb. 16 article entitled "Town of Truckee: Taking over library might not be feasible." The article stated that library patrons expressed hope for town control of operations as then "Truckee would be able to

Learn more »

Jean Eick: Lahontan Community Foundation Fund 2019 grant cycle is open

March 1, 2019 — This year the Lahontan Community Foundation Fund will award up to $140,000 to nonprofit organizations working toward the betterment of the Truckee and North Tahoe Region. Applications are due via email to grants@parasol.org no later than 4 p.m. March 25. For details and eligibility requirements,

Learn more »