All-League soccer | McMullens, Duner, Pena receive high honors

Staff report

A number of Truckee and North Tahoe soccer players were honored with selections to the All-Sierra League teams, voted on recently by the league’s coaches.

Leading the way in voting was Truckee’s Nash McMullen, who earned both midfield MVP of the Sierra League and MVP of the Division I-A in All-State voting, while Reed McMullen was voted defensive MVP. Truckee’s Olivia Duner also was named midfield MVP, teammate Melisa Pena was defensive MVP.

Both Truckee coaches, Katie Jamison for the girls and Casey Eberhardt for the boys, were voted Coaches of the Year, with Eberhardt sharing the honor with Frank Avilla of Sparks.

On the girls side, Truckee’s Kaylee “Ned” Neill was voted to the first team as a forward, Melissa Cardoza was voted to the first team as a midfielder, Sarah Svoboda on defense and Cassandra Sawyer as a goalkeeper.

Truckee’s Quinn Parker was voted to the second team at forward, North Tahoe’s Liz Buhler was voted to the second team as a midfielder, Truckee’s Heather Fissel on defense and Truckee’s Shelby Matthews as a utility player.

The Lakers’ Boxhie Pokorny, Julia Semmens and Hannah Perkins and Truckee’s Karina Rivera, Emma Warren and Katie Johnson all received honorable mention recognition.

Brooke King of South Tahoe was the MVP forward.

For the boys, Truckee’s Jesse Fereira was voted to the first team as a forward while teammates Jose Sarabia and Colten Roderigue made second team at midfield, Armando Diaz on defense, Ignacio Diaz as a goalkeeper and Ruben Diaz as a utility player.

Truckee’s Fernando Rodriguez and North Tahoe’s Danny Garcia were named to the second team at forward, while Truckee’s David Martinez was honored at midfield, and Truckee’s Max Barta and North Tahoe’s Angel Guerrero on defense.

Receiving honorable mention were North Tahoe’s Alex Tyler, Lucas Early, Garrett Driller and Omar Vargas, and Truckee’s Nico Kuyper, Thomas Arnstein, Austin Simonpietri and Rolando Zarate.

In All-State voting, aside from McMullen’s MVP, Hector Hernandez of Sparks was offensive MVP, Gerardo Castillo of state champion SECTA was defensive MVP and Juan Chavez of Clark was Coach of the Year.

Fereira, Reed McMullen, Ignacio Diaz and Ruben Diaz all made the All-State first team at their respective positions, while Roderigue, Sarabia and Armando Diaz made second team. Kuyper and Martinez were honorable mention.

Girls All-State has not yet been selected.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.