All-League volleyball | Truckee’s Maia Dvoracek honored on first team |

All-League volleyball | Truckee’s Maia Dvoracek honored on first team

Staff report
Truckee sophomore Maia Dvoracek was voted to the Northern Division I-A All-League first team.
Sylas Wright / Sierra Sun |

Six Truckee volleyball players were recognized on the Northern Division I-A All-League team, led by sophomore Maia Dvoracek’s selection to the first team.

The awards were determined by the league’s coaches.

Aside from Dvoracek, junior Anais Fay was voted to the All-League second team, while Madison Haley, Kari Murphy, Tori Simpson and Taylor Stevens received honorable mention.

Kelsie Gailey of Elko was voted league MVP and Megan Allen of Lowry was Coach of the Year.

In addition to her All-League selection, Dvoracek made the All-State second team.

The Wolverines played into the Division I-A state championship tournament before falling to eventual state champion Faith Lutheran.


Most Valuable Player: Kelsie Gailey, Elko

Coach of the Year: Megan Allen, Lowry


Middle blocker: Kelsie Gailey, Elko

Middle blocker: Juliana Velasco, Lowry

Outside hitter: Jill Wright, Elko

Outside hitter: Evan Mathison, Fallon

Setter: Auri Criddle, Lowry

DS/OH: Maia Dvoracek, Truckee

Utility: Desirea Danner, Elko


Middle blocker: Kaylee Turner, Dayton

Middle blocker: Driftwind Nau, Sparks

Outside hitter: Sierra Thiede, Lowry

Outside hitter: Jillian Albright, Lowry

Outside hitter: Cheyanne Strong, Dayton

Setter: Olivia Howe, Elko

Utility: Anais Fay, Truckee


Middle blocker: Lynsee Ferretto, Fernley

Middle blocker: Josalynn Harris, Elko

Middle blocker: Nina Cuadra, Sparks

Middle blocker: Meg Montero, Lowry

Outside hitter: Kaylee Snow, Spring Creek

Outside hitter: Rachel Hadley, Dayton

Middle blocker: Madison Haley, Truckee

Outside hitter: Taylor Stevens, Truckee

Outside hitter: Whitney Skabelund, Fallon

Outside hitter: Sabrina Welch, Elko

Outside hitter: Maddie Petersen, Spring Creek

Outside hitter: Ashlee Barron, Lowry

Opposite hitter: Rashay Williams, Spring Creek

Opposite hitter: Kendhyl Delacour, South Tahoe

Setter: Zoey Swisher, Fallon

Setter: Michelle Santos, Sparks

Setter: Shalia Powell, Dayton

Libero: Marisa Coleman, Sparks

Libero: Katlyn Wirts, Spring Creek

Libero: Elvia Diaz, Dayton

Libero: Kyla Kincaid, Fallon

Libero: Tori Simpson, Truckee

Libero: Darion Iturriaga, Lowry

Utility: Kari Murphy, Truckee

Utility: Areli Hernandez, Sparks

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User