Biathlon racing | Violett, Wendt win Chuck Lyda Memorial |

Biathlon racing | Violett, Wendt win Chuck Lyda Memorial

Phillip Violett and Buff Wendt claimed respective victories in the pro division of the Chuck Lyda Memorial Biathlon at Auburn Ski Club this past Sunday.

Violett posted a final time of 41:13.06, while Wendt placed third overall and the top woman with a time of 48:41.01.

Ted Hulbert finished second in 46:48.42. Raymond Erst was fourth and Dan Warren fifth in the field of 13 pro competitors.

The novice race featured 33 athletes. Orion Maxwell took the win with a final time of 20:22.64. He was followed by Spencer Reid (22:16.70) in second place and Wesley Romer (22:33.32) in third.

Frances Hamilton finished fourth overall and first among women, posting a final time of 23:02.34. Lexie Madigan was the second woman and sixth overall in 23:10.55, and Nina Seemann was the third woman and eight overall in 23:48.58.

The event also included a youth race. Izzie Pullen won with a time of 6:28.72 and was followed by Maya Ferris (6:40.19) and Lucas Johnston (9:42.67) in third.

The competition was the third biathlon event of the season at Auburn Ski Club, which will host the USBA Biathlon National Championships from March 20-22.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User