CNISSF Nordic racing | Annika Taylor, Austin Meng win state titles |

CNISSF Nordic racing | Annika Taylor, Austin Meng win state titles

Courtesy Mark Nadell / macbethgraphics.smugmug.comSugar Bowl Academy senior Austin Meng celebrates his CNISSF State Championship at Auburn Ski Club on Saturday.

Annika Taylor, Austin Meng, Danielle Nivinski, Branden Deeter, Hannah Halvorsen and Sam Zabell all captured wins in the CNISSF Nordic State Championship Pursuit race at Auburn Ski Club this past Saturday.

Greeted by single-digit temperatures and mostly clear skies, high schools and middle schools from as far away as Nevada Union, Colfax and Mammoth competed alongside the powerhouse squads from Truckee, North Tahoe and the Sugar Bowl Academy.

The classic races for the high school divisions were held on a hilly, 6.4-kilometer course.

Meng, a senior at the Sugar Bowl Academy, finished first in the varsity boys’ division with a time of 17 minutes and 19 seconds. Truckee’s Jordan Mcelroy finished runner-up, crossing the line with a time of 17:44, while Patrick McElravey of North Tahoe rounded out the podium in third, posting a time of 18:34.

Truckee’s Alex Kopytko was fourth and Sugar Bowl Academy’s Alec Wiltz fifth, followed by North Tahoe’s Carson Clark and Truckee’s Justin Ondry.

In the varsity girls’ race, Taylor of Truckee narrowly beat Katrin Larusson of the Sugar Bowl Academy, as she posted a time of 20:05.8 to Larusson’s 20:07.4. Laurel Fiddler of Mammoth was third, followed by Sugar Bowl’s Bria Riggs in fourth and Incline’s Melanie Swick in fifth. Kelly Habibi of the Sugar Bowl Academy was eighth.

The Wolverines swept the podium in the boys’ open division, as Deeter won in 20:40.9 and was trailed by teammates Isaiah Cutler in 20:51.6 and Jake Kamenetsky in 21:15.

Nivinski of the Sugar Bowl Academy took the win in the girls’ open division, finishing with a time of 24:03. Sugar Bowl Academy teammate Camille Hartley was second in 24:50 and Zoe Anderson of North Tahoe third in 27:06.

In the middle school races, Alder Creek won the girls’ and boys’ team championships ahead of runner-up North Tahoe and third-place South Tahoe.

Individually, Zabell of the Sugar Bowl Academy raced to a first-place finish among boys with a time of 14:11, while North Tahoe’s Dylan Syben took second in 15:17 and the Lakers’ Julien Bordes was third in 15:27.

Alder Creek skiers swept the girls’ podium, as well as the fifth through eighth positions, as Halvorsen earned the win in a time of 15:25, Gabrielle Rinne was runner-up in 16:19 and Skyler Flora third in 16:19.

For complete results, go to For a photo gallery, go to

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User