CNISSF Nordic racing | Dylan Syben, Katrin Larusson win Truckee Sprints

Staff report
Courtesy David Antonucci North Tahoe's Dylan Syben, on right, and Patrick McElravey had a close finish in the Truckee Sprints on Friday. Syben took the win.

The North Tahoe boys dominated the final heat in the Truckee Sprints on Friday, taking the top three spots and five of the top six, while the Truckee and Sugar Bowl Academy girls took seven of the top eight places in their final.

The spectator-friendly race, which is traditionally held at Truckee’s Surprise Stadium, was moved to the Auburn Ski Club due to a lack of snow at the high school.

Each athlete skied a preliminary lap to determine his or her time, and the fastest 32 racers were then put into quarterfinal heats of eight. The top four racers from the quarterfinal heats advanced to the semifinal round, while the top four from the two semis met in the final.

Sugar Bowl Academy’s Katrin Larusson recorded a win in the varsity girls race, as she reached the finish line in the final eight-person heat ahead of Truckee racers Gabrielle Rinne and Lizzie Larkins.

Mammoth’s Amanda Kirkeby slipped into fourth place. She was followed by Elise Hardy of the Sugar Bowl Academy (SBA), Truckee’s Skyler Flora and SBA’s Danielle Nivinski and Bria Riggs.

It was Dylan Syben’s turn to claim a win for the Lakers in the varsity boys event, as he edged teammate Patrick McElravey by a hair in the final heat. North Tahoe’s Peter Holmes was third, while SBA’s Sam Zabell broke up the Lakers’ party with a fourth-place finish. North Tahoe’s Shane Christian was fifth, Julien Bordes sixth, SBA’s Peter Carroll seventh and Truckee’s Alex Kopytko eighth.

In the middle school division, Quinn Lehmkuhl of North Tahoe claimed the win ahead of Mia Winans of Alder Creek. They were trailed by Claire Lang-Ree, Bri Parker, Brenna Wapstra Scott, Lindsey Twomey, Syra Fillat and Chloe Gorman.

Ryland Belisle of Alder Creek won the middle school boys race, while Connor Kusumoto of Mammoth was second, followed by Trace Calvin, Cameron Small, J.C. Schoonmaker, Cody Atwood, Eric Bourke and Zach Williams.

UP NEXT: The CNISSF state championships are scheduled for March 2 at the Auburn Ski Club.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.