CNISSF Nordic racing | McElravey, Larusson win state

Staff report
Courtesy Patrick FloraKatrin Larusson of the Sugar Bowl Academy won the individual girls title at the CNISSF state championships this past Saturday.

Senior standouts Patrick McElravey and Katrin Larusson captured individual titles to help lead their respective high school teams to victories in the CNISSF Nordic state championships at Auburn Ski Club this past Saturday.

The format was a same-day pursuit that began with a 3-kilometer, mass-start classic race. Two hours later, the skiers competed in a skate race, with staggered starts based each skier’s classic time.

Larusson, skiing for the Sugar Bowl Academy, posted the fastest girls time in both the classic and skate heats to easily claim the title with a combined time of 24:37.4. Truckee freshman Lizzie Larkins finished runner-up in 25:40.9.

The girls team results mirrored the top two individuals, as the Sugar Bowl Academy girls took home the state championship while Truckee’s girls were second. North Tahoe rounded out the girls podium.

The Sugar Bowl Academy (SBA) crew had four girls finish among the top six, while Truckee had five in the top 10. SBA’s Danielle Nivinski placed third in 25:59.0 and was followed by Truckee’s Skyler Flora, SBA’s Camille Hartley and Bria Riggs, Mammoth’s Amanda Kirkeby, and Truckee’s Gabrielle Rinne, Jenna Rohlf and Kyla Burrill.

Sophomore Tara Gallant led the North Tahoe girls in 13th place, while teammate Emily Nall was 14th, Zoe Anderson 17th and Ingrid Roske 18th.

In the boys race, McElravey and teammate Peter Holmes swept the top two spots for their North Tahoe squad, while Sam Zabell of SBA slipped into third place. McElravey earned the title with a combined time of 22:21.0 to Holmes’ 22:32.3. Zabell skied a fast skate leg to take third in 22:35.8.

The Lakers landed five skiers in the top 10, as Shane Christian finished fourth, Dylan Syben was sixth and Julien Bordes was eighth. Peter Carroll of SBA finished fifth, while Alex Kopytko led Truckee in seventh, Evan Vomund of Incline was ninth and Truckee’s Branden Deeter 10th.

SBA’s Casey Jobe finished 11th and was followed by Truckee’s Aaron Deeter, SBA’s Skyler Mullings, and Truckee’s Eli Yale and Colin Deurlington.

The Sugar Bowl Academy boys came in second behind the Lakers, and the Truckee boys were third.

In the middle school division, Alder Creek won both the boys and girls team championships. The boys edged Mammoth, 281-289, while the girls posted a winning score of 246 points to runner-up North Tahoe’s 231. The North Tahoe boys were third with 272 points.

Individually, Connor Kusumoto of Mammoth took the title with a time of 12:57.8. J.C. Schoonmaker of North Tahoe was second in 13:00.2 and Ryland Belisle of Alder Creek was third in 13:13.2. Eric Bourke of North Tahoe was sixth and was trailed by Alder Creek’s Zach Williams, Dawson Smith and David Dalicandro.

North Tahoe’s Quinn Lehmkuhl claimed the girls middle school title, posting a winning time of 13:46.4, while Mia Winans of Alder Creek was second in 13:51.3 and Claire Lang-Ree of Alder Creek was third in 13:53.0. Alder Creek’s Brenna Wapstra-Scott was fourth and Chloe Gorman fifth, followed by North Tahoe’s Lindsey Twomey, and Alder Creek’s Bri Parker, Eleanore Hamilton and Grace Bronstone.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.