Truckee-Tahoe skiers earn Far West accolades |

Truckee-Tahoe skiers earn Far West accolades

Squaw Valley’s Jordan Cashman served as an athlete-coach during the season and for his efforts was named the winner of Far West Skiing’s Jill Kinmont award.
Courtesy of Harry Lefrak / Lefrak Photography

U10 Championships

Allan Cup Winners: Maya Eisner (Mammoth), Oscar Whelan (Squaw Valley)

Marco Sullivan Cup (Sportsmanship Award): Simone Dessens (Squaw Valley)

U12 Championships:

Richmond Cup Winners: Caroline Ehrman (Kirkwood) and Blaise Turnbull (Kirkwood)

Jeff Todd Cup (Sportsmanship Award): Caroline Ehrman (Kirkwood)

U14 Championships:

McKinney Cup: Carly Hamilton (Squaw Valley)

Rahlves Cup: David Morken (Squaw Valley)

Andy Mead Lawrence Cup (Sportsmanship): Adam Brown (Northstar)

Wild West Series

Boys’ first place: Zachary Bower (Sugar Bowl)

Girls’ first place: Amelia Jones (Sugar Bowl)

The final races of the Far West Skiing season were held on Easter at Mammoth Mountain Ski Area, concluding a season that saw night slalom events canceled due to a lack of snow, before the region was hit with a historic winter that caused many races to be canceled due to too much snow.

Far West Skiing held only 31% of its scheduled races, according to officials, during February’s record-setting month of snow.

This year’s season came to a close last weekend with the Far West Speed Finals at Mammoth, bringing older age groups to Mammoth’s St. Anton venue for two days of super-G racing.

Sugar Bowl Ski Team & Academy’s Karsten Hart not only proved to be the fastest skier in the boys’ U16 division during Saturday’s first round of competition, but put down the top time of any of the more than 100 competitors. Hart took down the course with a time of 1 minute, 9.96 seconds, which was 0.22 faster than U19 winner Charlie Regelbrugge, of the Mammoth Mountain Ski Team. Regelbrugge was second overall, followed by Sugar Bowl’s Ryan Herhusky with a time of 1:10.57. For his racing this past season, Herhusky was named the winner of the Bobby Mehrhof award for outstanding performance.

Squaw Valley Ski Team’s Rhett Lindsey captured first place in the boys’ U14 division, finishing with a time of 1:13.79.

The skiers returned to the slopes the following day for Easter racing, and Regelbrugge defended home snow by taking first overall with a time of 1:13.58. Hart was second, and made it back-to-back wins out of the U14 division, finishing the course with a time of 1:14.04. Squaw Valley Ski Team’s Gregory Shklovski was third overall with a time of 1:14.66. Rhett was again the top skier out of the U14 division, finishing with a time of 1:18.25.

Mammoth skiers sweep ladies super-G

A pair of Mammoth skiers swept the top spots in the ladies’ division this past weekend, taking first place in both days of super-G racing at Mammoth.

Sasha Mueller brought the team a first-place finish during Saturday’s round of racing, finishing the course with a time of 1:10.50. Mammoth’s Erica Lynch was next with a time of 1:11.24 to take first in the girls’ U16 division. Northstar Ski Team’s Ella Freeman was third overall with a time of 1:11.98.

Squaw Valley Ski Team’s Carly Hamilton was first out of the U14 division, completing the racecourse with a time of 1:13.18.

Mammoth’s Lynch turned her second-place finish in Saturday’s event into first overall the following day, crossing the line at the bottom of the venue with a time of 1:14.04. Sugar Bowl’s Kaelin Woodruff was second with a time of 1:14.89. Hamilton was again first out of the girls’ U14 age group, finishing third overall with a time of 1:15.23. Following the race, Hamilton was named the winner of the McKinney Cup as the top female skier in her age group.

Squaw Valley’s Maya Wong took first in the U19 division with a time of 1:15.99 for fifth overall.

End-of-season accolades

Following an outstanding 2018-19 season, the Squaw Valley Ski Team took overall championships in the U10, U12 and U14 age groups, capturing the Rasmussen Cup, Poulson Cup and Cushing Cup.

Other individual winners included Squaw Valley’s Jordan Cashman, who served as an athlete-coach during the season to earn the Jill Kinmont award; Squaw Valley’s Keely Cashman and Diamond Peak’s Mathew Smallhouse, who were named winners of the Jinny Glass award for outstanding performance by an athlete in the U19/U21 age groups; Alison Mollin, who was named the Bobby Mehrhof winner for outstanding performance in the U16 division; for her work as a coach at Squaw Valley, Lindsay Dowd was given the Dave McCoy award for coach of the season; and the Squaw Valley Alpine Meadows race department was given the Bill Mackay award for an most outstanding race organizer.

Justin Scacco is a reporter for the Sierra Sun. Contact him at

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User