Far West Nordic skiers to compete in Junior Nationals | SierraSun.com

Far West Nordic skiers to compete in Junior Nationals

North Tahoe senior Quinn Lehmkuhl is one of 37 athletes who make up the Far West Nordic Junior National Team. The team will race in the USSA Cross Country Skiing Junior National Championships in Telemark, Wisc., next week.
Courtesy Mark Nadell / MacBeth Graphics |

The 37 athletes who make up the Far West Nordic Junior National Team are headed to Telemark, Wisc., next week to compete in the USSA Cross Country Skiing Junior National Championships.

The team is led by Sugar Bowl Academy senior Hannah Halvorsen, who is fresh off strong performances in the Youth Olympic Games in Lillehammer, Norway, and the Scandinavian Cup races in Estonia.

Athletes earned their spots on the Far West Nordic Junior National Team through seven Junior National Qualifiers held throughout the season, starting with two races at the Auburn Ski Club in December and finishing with the President’s Cup on Feb. 15. Skiers were required to qualify in at least three races, and in at least one skate and one classic event.

Junior Nationals competition will take place on the historic trails at Telemark Lodge near Cable, Wisc., home to the American Birkebeiner, the nation’s largest Nordic race.

The event begins with opening ceremonies on Sunday, March 6, while racing beginning on Monday with the Classic distance races. Results will be available daily at http://www.xcjuniornationals2016.com.

Far West Nordic Junior National team


Lexie Madigan, Sugar Bowl Academy

Kianna Mullings, Sugar Bowl Academy

Grace Bronstone, Auburn Ski Club

Chloe Gorman, Sugar Bowl Academy

Haydn Halvorsen, Sugar Bowl Academy

Hannah Halvorsen, Sugar Bowl Academy

Lizzie Larkins, Auburn Ski Club

Eleanore Hamilton, Sugar Bowl Academy

Abigail Baier, Auburn Ski Club

Bri Parker, Auburn Ski Club

Casey Jobe, Auburn Ski Club

Ryland Belisle, Sugar Bowl Academy

Skyler Mullings, Sugar Bowl Academy

David Dalicandro, Auburn Ski Club

Christopher Miller, Auburn Ski Club

Peter Carroll, Sugar Bowl Academy

Sam Zabell, Sugar Bowl Academy

North Shore, Incline

Sofia Sanchez, Auburn Ski Club

Ella Kuzyk, Sugar Bowl Academy

Nina Seemann, Tahoe XC

Camille Syben, Team Unleashed

JC Schoonmaker, Auburn Ski Club

Nate Cutler, Sugar Bowl Academy

Cooper Anderson, Auburn Ski Club

Maxwell Roske, Auburn Ski Club

Nikolas Burkhart, Team Unleashed

Quinn Lehmkuhl, Auburn Ski Club

Ursula Volz, Auburn Ski Club

Brandon Herhusky, Sugar Bowl Academy

Julien Bordes, Team Unleashed

Dylan Syben, Team Unleashed

Mammoth Lakes

Meaghan Thompson, Mammoth Mt. Ski Team

Alexia Craven, Mammoth Mt. Ski Team

Connor Kusumoto, Mammoth Mt. Ski Team

Trace Calvin, Mammoth Mt. Ski Team

Calvin Forsythe, Mammoth Mt. Ski Team

Nevada City

Erika Wolf, Auburn Ski Club

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User