Highlanders awarded NIAA’s 2013 Award of Excellence championship | SierraSun.com

Highlanders awarded NIAA’s 2013 Award of Excellence championship

All-time point totals

Division III (formerly 2A): 1, Faith Lutheran (2004), 2973 points; 2, Faith Lutheran (2003), 2646; 3, Whittell (2010), 2515; 4, Battle Mountain (2010), 2487; 5, Incline (2013), 2475; 6, Incline (2004), 2459; 7, The Meadows (2009), 2443; 8, Lincoln County (2004), 2424; 9, Incline (2009), 2423; 10, The Meadows (2013), 2387.

For the second time in three years, Incline High School was named Division III champion of the Nevada Interscholastic Activities Association’s Award of Excellence in Academics, Athletics and Citizenship.

Bishop Manogue (Division I), Boulder City (Division I-A) and Pahranagat Valley (Division IV) earned the award in the NIAA’s other classifications.

The NIAA, the non-profit governing body of high school sports in the Silver State, began the award program in 2001. The scoring system awards points to member schools based on their varsity teams’ performances in the classroom, at the athletic venue and in the Citizenship Through Sports program.

Each of the three major categories in high school activities — academics, athletics and sportsmanship — are weighted equally, and boys and girls programs are combined in the standings table. Spirit and student council/leadership points were added after the conclusion of the winter season. Points were deducted at the conclusion of the spring season for ejections and other acts of unsportsmanlike conduct.

The NIAA honors the winning school in each division by presenting it with a championship banner and commemorative trophy. The NIAA office staff, Board of Control members/liaisons and member schools consider the Award of Excellence to be the top overall sports competition.

Incline, the 2011 champion, defeated defending champion The Meadows by 88 points to capture the Division III title in the closest award race at that level’s history. The Highlanders scored 690 points in the spring season to finish with 2,475 points total.

The Mustangs managed 600 points this past season to total 2,387 points. The Meadows is a five-time past champion. Yerington banked 680 spring-season points to finish third at 2,284. Lincoln County finished fourth with 2,165 points.

Boulder City won its fourth straight award championship at the Division I-A (formerly 3A) level and its fifth crown dating back to 2006. The Eagles scored 3,103 points to secure a narrow 200-point victory over Faith Lutheran. Elko showed third with 2,179 total points while Clark and Lowry tied for fourth overall at 1,790.

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.