Incline football: Highlanders honored with All-League selections |

Incline football: Highlanders honored with All-League selections

In his first season playing high school football, Incline senior Tanner Quenneville was voted to the All-League first team as a return specialist and defensive back. He also made the All-State second team at both positions.
Sylas Wright / North Lake Tahoe Bonanza |

Nine Incline football players received selections to the Northern Division III All-League team, while four were named to the All-State team.

The awards were determined by the league’s coaches.

Senior Tanner Quenneville, who did not play high school football until his senior year, led the Highlanders with selections to both the All-League first team and All-State second team at two different positions.

Quenneville made the All-League first team as a return specialist and a defensive back, and was named to the All-State second team at both positions. He also took over at quarterback for the Highlanders after senior starter Kelsey Philpott went down with an injury midway through the season.

Senior four-year starter Jerry Sanchez — whose high school career was highlighted by a 47-yard field goal as a sophomore — was voted to the All-League and All-State first team as a punter. He was voted to the All-League second team as a kicker behind Yerington’s Daniel Sciarani.

Senior Joey Stranzl, who returned to the gridiron after sitting out his sophomore and junior years, was selected to the All-League first team and All-State second team at tight end, as well as the All-League second team as a defensive lineman.

Senior Owen Graffis also made the All-League first team at running back and was named to the All-State second team at the same position.

The following Highlanders were voted to the All-League second team: Senior Brandon Judd as an offensive lineman, and seniors Michael Guymon and Charlie Zendner at linebacker.

Guymon also received honorable mention recognition at running back, as did Conor Nix at defensive back and Jessie Segoviano on the offensive line.

Yerington, which went undefeated en route to a third consecutive state championship, cleaned up among the highest honors. Yerington’s Reese Neville was voted MVP, Dakota Aiazzi was Offensive Player of the Year, Michael Monahan was Defensive Player of the Year and Cody Neville was Coach of the Year. Jeff Oaks of Battle Mountain was Defensive Player of the Year.


Most Valuable Player: Reese Neville, Yerington

Offensive Player of the Year: Dakota Aiazzi, Yerington

Defensive Player of the Year: Michael Monahan, Yerington

Lineman of the Year: Jeff Oaks, Battle Mountain

Coach of the Year: Cody Neville, Yerington; Jerome Reamer, West Wendover

First Team

O-line: Eddie Montano, Yerginton

O-line: Ian Mattice, Yerington

O-line: Efren Campos, Yerington

O-line: Daniel Tovar, Battle Mountain

O-line: Angel Camarena, Pershing County

TE: Joey Stranzl, Incline

QB: Angel Ramirez, Pershing County

RB: Owen Graffis, Incline

RB: Ty Arnett, Pershing County

RB: Michael Monahan, Yerington

WR: Luis Correa, West Wendover

WR: Sam Hammond, Yerington

WR: Willie Gattrell, Pershing County

RS: Tanner Quenneville, Incline

D-Line: Cooper Burkhart, Battle Mountain

D-Line: Ian Mattice, Yerington

D-Line: Sam Hammond, Yerington

D-Line: Eddie Rosas, Battle Mountain

D-Line: Ty Arnett, Pershing County

K: Daniel Sciarani, Yerington

P: Jerry Sanchez, Incline

LB: Brian Flores, West Wendover

LB: Arturo Serrano, Battle Mountain

LB: Harrison Cisneros, Yerington

LB: Jared Brinkerhoff, Pershing County

DB: Daniel Sciarani, Yerington

DB: Zade Elton, West Wendover

DB: Tanner Quenneville, Incline

DB: Willie Gattrell, Pershing County

Second Team

O-Line: Emilio Jiminez, Pershing County

O-Line: Brandon Judd, Incline

O-Line: Zach Heese, Battle Mountain

O-Line: Jake Mattice, Yerington

O-Line: Justice Carmichael, Pershing County

TE: Regan Knight, Battle Mountain

QB: Bryan Chavira, Battle Mountain

RB: David McFalls, Yerington

RB: Marcus Nester, Pershing County

RB: Jaxon Carter, West Wendover

RB: Mason Wungnema, Silver Stage

WR: Jaren Price, Battle Mountain

WR: Harrison Cisneros, Yerington

WR: Kort Beaver, Battle Mountain

RS: Anthony Madera, Yerington

D-line: Joey Stranzl, Incline

D-line: Tad Milich, Pershing County

D-line: Logan Murphy, Pershing County

D-line: Anthony Medina, West Wendover

D-line: DJ Potter, Battle Mountain

K: Jerry Sanchez, Incline

P: Angel Ramirez, Pershing County

LB: Michael Guymon, Incline

LB: Andrew Cox, Battle Mountain

LB: Charlie Zendner, Incline

LB: Tim Rhodes, Pershing County

DB: Ernesto Cervantes, Yerington

DB: Ethan Rhodes, Pershing County

DB: Jaren Price, Battle Mountain

DB: Luis Correa, West Wendover

DB: Daniel Nichols, Silver Stage

Honorable Mention (Incline only)

O-line: Jessie Segoviano

RB: Michael Guymon

DB: Conor Nix


P: Jerry Sanchez (First team)

RB: Owen Graffis (Second team)

TE: Joey Stranzl (Second team)

DB, RS: Tanner Quenneville (Second team)

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.