Incline softball | Five Highlanders honored on All-League |

Incline softball | Five Highlanders honored on All-League

Incline senior Kortney Solis was named to the All-League second team.
Courtesy photo |

Five Incline softball players were honored on the Northern Division III All-League team, led by senior Elise Nelson’s first-team selection.

The awards were decided by the league’s coaches.

Nelson was one of 12 players named to the All-League first team, while Yerington senior Angela Sciarani was voted league MVP and Krystal Smith of White Pine was Coach of the Year.

Incline senior Kortney Solis was voted to the All-League second team, while Sarah Wright, Maddie Findlen and Karyss Thompson received honorable mention recognition.

Nelson was certainly deserving of her first-team honor. She led the Highlanders in most offensive categories, finishing with a .579 batting average, with five doubles, two triples, two home runs and a slugging percentage of .842. She had 18 RBIs and 31 runs scored in 18 games, and stole 18 bases in 20 attempts. A first baseman, shortstop and pitcher, she posted a .991 fielding percentage.

Solis hit .510, Wright .450, Thompson .449 and Findlen .436. Thompson was 12-for-12 in stolen base attempts and Findlen was 11-for-11. Solis also was perfect in seven tries.

Northern Division III All-League

MVP: Angela Sciarani, Sr., Yerington

Coach of the Year: Krystal Smith, White Pine

First team

Alli Huntington, Sr., White Pine

Teal Hussey, Jr., White Pine

Amanda Allred, Sr., White Pine

Brooke Menesini, Sr., Yerington

Emily Irvine, Sr., Yerington

Erika Holland, Fresh., Pershing County

Mikayla Montes, Jr., Pershing County

Brooklyn Quintana, Sr., Battle Mountain

Kylie Sonderman, Soph., Battle Mountain

Elise Nelson, Sr., Incline

Sydney Reamer, Fresh., West Wendover

Kia Papia, Sr., Silver Stage

Second team

Debra Kingston, Soph., White Pine

Jane Murdock, Jr., White Pine

Shania Hall, Jr., White Pine

Celine Bethel, Sr., Yerington

Jessy Cochrane, Sr., Yerington

Nadalee Linberg, Sr., Yerington

Bailey Wanner, Soph., Pershing County

Mikayla Renfroe, Fresh., Pershing County

Jade Harkness, Jr., Battle Mountain

Kortney Solis, Sr., Incline

Marisol Rodriguez, Sr., West Wendover

Shania Staggs, Sr., Silver Stage

Honorable mention

Jaden Ernest, Jr., White Pine

McKenna Windaus, Jr., White Pine

Chloe Dane, Jr., Yerington

Bri Ramirez, Soph., Yerington

Riley Jaramillo, Fresh., Pershing County

Esmeralda Velazques, Sr., Pershing County

McKenna Jones, Fresh., Battle Mountain

Kaleah Tougenson, Sr., Battle Mountain

Sarah Wright, Sr., Incline

Karyss Thompson, Fresh., Incline

Maddie Findlen, Sr., Incline

Ryann Gentry, Jr., West Wendover

Tanya Esparza, Sr., West Wendover

Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Lake Tahoe, Truckee, and beyond make the Sierra Sun's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.